Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Help the Government of Canada organize its website! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.
Healthy Living

Physical Activity

Physical activity improves health and well-being. It reduces stress, strengthens the heart and lungs, increases energy levels, helps you maintain and achieve a healthy body weight and it improves your outlook on life.

Research shows that physical inactivity can cause premature death, chronic disease and disability. Health Canada encourages Canadians to integrate physical activity into their every day life; at home, at school, at work, at play and on the way ... that's active living!

For children, regular physical activity is essential for healthy growth and development. For adults, it allows daily tasks to be accomplished with greater ease and comfort and with less fatigue.

For seniors, weight-bearing physical activity reduces the rate of bone loss associated with osteoporosis. Regular physical activity also maintains strength, flexibility, balance, and coordination, and can help reduce the risk of falls.

Being physically active not only strengthens your body, it also makes you feel good about yourself.

What Can You Do?

Physical activity is something that everyone can do. You don't need to run a marathon or spend hours at a gym. Look for simple ways to be physically active every day.

You could:

  • Take a walk once a day;
  • Take the stairs instead of the elevator;
  • Spend less time in front of the television or computer;
  • Play actively with your kids;
  • Walk, wheel or cycle for short trips; or
  • Find out about walking and cycling paths nearby and use them.

To help you become more active in your every day life, consult Next link will take you to another Web site Tips to Get Active for children, youth, adults and older adults. These are designed to help you make wise choices about physical activity; choices that will improve your health, help prevent disease and allow you to get the most out of life.

What other Resources are Available?

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web! Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.
Vie saine

Activité physique

L'activité physique améliore la santé et le bien-être; réduit le stress; renforce le coeur et les poumons; augmente le niveau d'énergie; aide à atteindre et maintenir un poids santé; favorise une philosophie de vie positive.

La recherche a démontré que l'inactivité physique constitue un grand facteur de risque de décès prématuré, de maladie chronique et d'invalidité. Santé Canada encourage les Canadiens à intégrer l'activité physique dans leur quotidien -- à la maison, à l'école, au travail, au jeu et dans vos déplacements... menez une vie physiquement active!

Chez les enfants, l'activité physique régulière optimise la croissance et le développement. Chez l'adulte, elle rend l'exécution des tâches quotidiennes plus aisée et moins épuisante.

Pour les aînés, l'activité physique avec mise en charge diminue la perte osseuse associée à l'ostéoporose. La pratique régulière d'une activité physique permet également de conserver sa force musculaire, sa souplesse, son équilibre et sa coordination, et peut réduire le risque de chute.

Être actif renforce non seulement le corps, mais favorise aussi le mieux-être.

Ce que vous pouvez faire

L'activité physique est accessible à tout le monde. Nul besoin de courir un marathon ou de passer des heures au gym; il y a des moyens très simples pour demeurer actif comme, par exemple :

  • marcher à tous les jours;
  • utiliser les escaliers au lieu de l'ascenseur;
  • passer moins de temps devant le téléviseur ou l'ordinateur;
  • jouer avec les enfants;
  • pour les courts déplacements, marcher, pédaler ou rouler à patins;
  • utiliser les pistes cyclables ou les sentiers de promenade du voisinage.

Afin d'incorporer l'activité physique à votre quotidien, consultez les Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Conseils pour être actif pour enfants, jeunes, adultes et aînés. Ils sont conçus pour vous aider à faire des choix éclairés en matière d'activité physique afin d'améliorer votre santé, prévenir la maladie et profiter de la vie au maximum.

Autres ressources disponibles