Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Healthy Living

Vermiculite Insulation Containing Amphibole Asbestos

It's Your Health

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

On this page:

The Issue

Some vermiculite insulation may contain amphibole asbestos fibres. These products can cause health risks if disturbed during maintenance, renovation or demolition. However, there is currently no evidence of risk to your health if the insulation is sealed behind wallboards and floorboards, isolated in an attic, or otherwise kept from exposure to the interior environment.

Background

Vermiculite is a mica-like mineral mined around the world and used in a variety of commercial and consumer products because it is fire-resistant and has good insulation qualities. Of concern is vermiculite ore produced by the Libby Mine in Montana from the 1920's to 1990. It was sold as Zonolite« Attic Insulation and possibly other brands in Canada during that time. Vermiculite from the Libby Mine may contain amphibole asbestos. The Libby Mine supplied the majority of the world market in vermiculite-based insulation.

Products made from vermiculite ore produced by the Libby Mine were not widely used after the mid-1980's and have not been on the market in Canada since 1990. Not all vermiculite produced before 1990 contains amphibole asbestos fibres. However, to be safe and in the absence of evidence to the contrary, it is reasonable to assume that if your building has older vermiculite-based insulation, it may contain some amphibole asbestos.

The Health Risks Of Vermiculite Containing Amphibole Asbestos

Although the overall percentages of amphibole asbestos in bulk vermiculite are very low, the airborne percentages can increase if the material is disturbed. Asbestos poses health risks only when fibres are present in the air that people breathe. If asbestos fibres are enclosed or tightly bound in a product, for example in asbestos siding or asbestos floor tiles, there are no significant health risks. How exposure to asbestos can affect you depends on:

  • the concentration of asbestos fibres in the air;
  • how long the exposure lasted;
  • how often you were exposed;
  • the size of the asbestos fibres inhaled; and
  • the amount of time since the initial exposure.

When inhaled in significant quantities, asbestos fibres can cause asbestosis (a scarring of the lungs which makes breathing difficult), mesothelioma (a rare cancer of the lining of the chest or abdominal cavity) and lung cancer. The link between exposure to asbestos and other types of cancers is less clear.

Based on current information, there is no evidence that vermiculite currently available for horticultural purposes (e.g. potting plants) is a health risk when used as directed.

Minimizing Your Risk

The best way to minimize your risk of amphibole asbestos exposure is to avoid disturbing vermiculite-based insulation in any way. If vermiculite-based insulation is contained and not exposed to the home or interior environment, it poses very little risk.

If you are concerned that your home may contain vermiculite-based insulation visit the Need More Info? section in this article or the Health Canada Web site to get the most up-to-date information as it becomes available.

If you know you have vermiculite-based insulation in your attic, take these precautionary steps.

  • Do not allow children to play in an attic with open areas of vermiculite-based insulation and make sure anyone working in the attic knows about the possible presence of amphibole asbestos.
  • Do not use the attic for storage if retrieving items from it may disturb the insulation.
  • If you must go into the attic, walk on boards in order to minimize disturbance of the insulation and use an appropriate respirator mask. Do not remain in the attic any longer than is necessary.
  • Common dust masks are not effective against asbestos fibres. For information on appropriate respirator masks, see the Need More Info? section.
  • If you have vermiculite-based insulation and you decide to have it removed, speak to trained and qualified asbestos removal professionals to handle the insulation removal. They can be found by looking up experts in "asbestos abatement /removal." NEVER attempt to remove the insulation yourself.
  • If you plan to remodel or renovate--for instance, by re-insulating your attic--in a manner that would disturb the vermiculite, speak to professionals who are trained and qualified to handle asbestos removal before proceeding with the work to be done.
  • Seal all cracks and holes in the ceilings of the rooms below the insulation (for example, apply caulking around light fixtures and the attic hatch) to prevent insulation sifting through.
  • If you suspect you have vermiculite-based insulation in your walls, as a precautionary step, seal all cracks and holes. For example, apply caulking around window and door frames, along baseboards and around electrical outlets.

What To Do If You Suspect You Have Been Exposed To Asbestos

Asbestos related illnesses are usually associated with frequent and prolonged exposure to asbestos. The time it takes to develop a disease from exposure to asbestos is usually long - up to decades. However, some steps you can take if you have concerns about exposure to asbestos are:

  • Talk to your health care provider;
  • Avoid or minimize further exposure to any form of asbestos; and
  • Stop smoking and avoid second hand tobacco smoke and other irritants that could affect your lungs. Exposure to cigarette smoke and asbestos greatly increases your chances of developing lung cancer.

Need More Info?

For the most up-to-date information on this issue, call 1-800-443-0395

For more information on asbestos, visit the following sites:

For information on general safety tips and guidelines for working with different types of insulation and other materials, visit:

For specific information on safety precautions and acceptable respirator masks when working with asbestos, go to:

  • Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety (CCOHS) Next link will take you to another Web site Respirator Selection
    Tel: 1-800-668-4284 (toll-free in Canada and USA)

For more information on workplace safety, visit the Environment and Workplace Health, Occupational Health and Safety Web section

For more information on vermiculite and asbestos visit, the following Web sites:

For more information on the Next link will take you to another Web site Hazardous Products Act) and asbestos, see Justice Canada's Web site

For more photographs of vermiculite insulation and additional information regarding vermiculite containing asbestos, please visit the US EPA's Next link will take you to another Web site Asbestos Home Page

For additional articles on health and safety issues go to the It's Your Health Web section
You can also call toll free at 1-866-225-0709 or TTY at 1-800-465-7735

Updated: September 2009
Original : March 2004
ęHer Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of Health, 2009

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Vie saine

Isolant de vermiculite pouvant contenir de l'amiante amphibolique

Votre santé et vous

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

Sur cette page :

Enjeu

Certains isolants de vermiculite peuvent contenir des fibres d'amiante amphibolique. Ces produits peuvent être dangereux si on les déplace pour l'entretien, les rénovations ou la démolition. Cependant, il n'y a pas de risque démontré pour la santé si l'isolant est scellé dans les panneaux muraux ou le plancher, isolés dans un grenier ou absent de l'air ambiant.

Contexte

La vermiculite est un minerai qui ressemble au mica, exploité partout dans le monde et utilisé dans une variété de produits commerciaux et de consommation pour ses propriétés isolantes et ignifuges. Le minerai qui suscite de l'inquiétude est celui extrait de la mine Libby au Montana durant les années 1920 à 1990 et qui se vendait sous la marque Zonolite® Attic Insulation et, peut-être, sous d'autres marques, au Canada à l'époque. La vermiculite provenant de cette mine peut contenir de l'amiante amphibolique. La mine de Libby approvisionnait la plus grande partie du marché mondial d'isolant de vermiculite.

Les produits de vermiculite de la mine de Libby sont très peu utilisés depuis le milieu des années 1980 et ne sont plus disponibles au Canada depuis une dizaine d'années. La vermiculite produite avant 1990 ne contient pas forcément de l'amiante amphibolique. Cependant, jusqu'à preuve du contraire, il est raisonnable de supposer que si votre immeuble est isolé avec un vieux produit de vermiculite, il peut contenir de l'amiante amphibolique.

Les risques liés à la vermiculite contenant de l'amiante amphibolique

Bien que le pourcentage global d'amiante amphibolique dans l'ensemble de la vermiculite soit minime, le pourcentage dans l'air peut augmenter si le matériau est déplacé. L'amiante est sans danger, sauf si l'air que vous respirez contient des fibres de ce matériau. Si les fibres d'amiante sont intégrées ou scellées dans un produit tel qu'un revêtement mural ou un recouvrement de plancher, il n'y a pas de risque important pour la santé. Les effets de l'amiante dépendent :

  • de la concentration des fibres dans l'air;
  • de la durée d'exposition;
  • de la fréquence des expositions;
  • de la taille des fibres d'amiante inhalées; et
  • du moment où remonte la première exposition.

Si on les respire en grande quantité, les fibres d'amiante peuvent causer l'amiantose (formation, dans les poumons, de tissu cicatriciel qui gêne la respiration), le mésothéliome (forme rare de cancer de la paroi thoracique ou de la cavité abdominale) et le cancer du poumon. Le lien entre l'exposition à l'amiante et d'autres types de cancers n'est pas clair.

Rien n'indique, selon les données actuelles, que la vermiculite destinée à un usage horticole (pour le rempotage notamment) représente un risque pour la santé quand on suit les instructions.

Réduire les risques

La meilleure façon de réduire le risque d'exposition à l'amiante amphibolique est d'éviter de déplacer l'isolant de vermiculite de quelque façon que ce soit. Si l'isolant est contenu et absent de l'air ambiant, le risque est minime.

Si vous croyez que votre maison contient de l'isolant à base de vermiculite et que cela vous inquiète, consultez la section Pour en savoir plus ci-dessous ou encore le portail Internet de Santé Canada pour obtenir l'information la plus récente.

Voici quelques précautions à prendre si votre grenier contient de la vermiculite :

  • Ne laissez aucun enfant jouer dans un grenier contenant de la vermiculite exposée et informez quiconque aurait à travailler au grenier de la présence possible d'amiante amphibolique.
  • N'entreposez rien au grenier si vous risquez de déplacer l'isolant.
  • Si vous devez aller au grenier, portez un masque respiratoire adéquat et marchez sur des planches pour ne pas déplacer l'isolant. N'y restez pas plus longtemps qu'il le faut.
  • Un masque protecteur ordinaire n'est pas efficace contre les fibres d'amiante. Pour en savoir plus sur les masques, consultez la section Pour en savoir plus ci-dessous.
  • Si votre isolant contient de la vermiculite et que vous décidez de le faire enlever, confiez le travail à un professionnel qualifié. Cherchez sous la rubrique Amiante - Réduction et enlèvement. NE TENTEZ JAMAIS d'enlever l'isolant vous-même.
  • Si vous prévoyez faire des travaux de transformation ou de rénovation, comme rajouter du matériel isolant à votre grenier, et que ces travaux risquent de déplacer l'isolant de vermiculite présent dans la maison, adressez-vous à un professionnel qualifié et apte à retirer de l'amiante avant de procéder.
  • Scellez toutes les fissures et les trous du plafond dans les pièces situées au-dessous de l'isolant, là où celui-ci pourrait s'infiltrer (par exemple là où vous avez appliqué du calfeutrage, autour des plafonniers et la trappe du grenier).
  • À titre préventif, scellez toutes les fissures et les trous si vous croyez qu'il y a de l'isolant de vermiculite dans vos murs. Par exemple, appliquez du calfeutrage autour des fenêtres et des encadrements de porte, le long des plinthes et autour des prises de courant.

Que faire si vous croyez avoir été exposé à l'amiante ?

Les maladies de l'amiante résultent généralement d'une exposition fréquente et prolongée. Il faut beaucoup de temps, parfois des décennies, avant qu'une maladie de l'amiante se manifeste. Voici quelques conseils, si vous craignez une exposition à l'amiante :

  • Parlez à un professionnel de la santé;
  • Évitez de vous ré-exposer à tout type d'amiante ou réduisez l'exposition au minimum; et
  • Cessez de fumer et évitez la fumée secondaire ou toute autre source d'irritant pulmonaire. L'exposition à la fumée de cigarette et à l'amiante multiplie les risques de cancer du poumon.

Pour en savoir plus...

Certains hyperliens donnent accès à des sites d'organismes qui ne sont pas assujettis à la Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Loi sur les langues officielles. L'information qui s'y trouve est donc dans la langue du site.

Pour l'information la plus récente sur ce sujet, composez le 1-800-443-0395

Pour vous renseigner sur l'amiante, veuillez consulter :

Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Portail des substances chimiques

L'article Risques pour la santé associés à l'amiante dans Votre santé et vous

La publication sur Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web l'Amiante de la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement

Pour obtenir des conseils pratiques de sécurité générale et des directives pour travailler avec différents types d'isolant ou autres matériaux, veuillez consulter :

La publication de Ressources naturelles Canada, Emprisonnons la chaleur, chapitre II, partie IV, Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Mesures de santé et sécurité

Pour vous renseigner sur les masques respiratoires acceptables et les mesures de sécurité à prendre quand on travaille avec l'amiante, veuillez consulter :

Le Centre canadien d'hygiène et de sécurité au travail - Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Choix des appareils respiratoires

Pour vous renseigner sur la sécurité en milieu de travail, veuillez consulter le portail du Santé de l'environnement et du milieu de travail, Santé et sécurité au travail

Pour vous renseigner plus sur la vermiculite et l'amiante, veuillez consulter :

La publication de Ressources naturelles Canada sur Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web L'amiante chrysolite

Le portail du sécurité des produits de consommation, Santé Canada

Le portail du contaminants environnementaux, Santé Canada

Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (anglais seulement):

Pour vous renseigner sur la Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Loi sur les produits dangereux et l'amiante, veuillez consulter le portail Internet de Justice Canada.

Pour voir d'autres photos de vermiculite et vous renseigner sur la vermiculite contenant de l'amiante, veuillez consulter la page Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Asbestos de l'EPA (anglais seulement) :

Vous trouverez des articles complémentaires dans le portail Votre santé et vous
Vous pouvez également téléphoner au 1-866-225-0709 ou le 1-800-465-7735 (sans frais) pour les malentendants.

Dernière mise à jour: septembre 2009
Version initiale : mars 2004
© Sa Majesté la Reine du Chef du Canada, représentée par le Ministre de la Santé, 2009