Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Health Care System


Pharmaceuticals are playing an increasingly important role in Canadians' health and Canada's health care system. They save lives, prevent the spread of disease, improve the quality of life for many, and control pain and suffering. Their role is likely to grow in the future as technological advances result in new drug therapies that replace earlier treatment methods or provide new options where no treatment existed before.

Health Canada is committed to ensuring timely access to safe, effective and high quality drugs. Our department works with provinces and territories, and others, to promote optimal drug therapy and focus public funding on therapeutically beneficial and cost-effective pharmaceuticals.

What Information is Available

In this section, you will find comprehensive information about drug benefit programs, how federal, provincial and territorial governments cooperate on pharmaceuticals management, and information on pharmaceutical costs and pricing and optimal drug therapy. You will also be able to obtain access to key acts and regulations and pertinent reports.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Système de soins de santé

Produits pharmaceutiques

Les produits pharmaceutiques jouent un rôle de plus en plus important dans la santé des Canadiens et dans le système de soins de santé au Canada, en ce sens qu'ils sauvent des vies, préviennent la propagation de maladies, améliorent la qualité de vie des patients en soulageant la douleur et en diminuant la souffrance. Grâce aux progrès techniques, la pharmacothérapie pourrait remplacer certaines méthodes de traitement ou fournir des options là où aucun traitement n'existait.

Santé Canada s'est engagé à assurer un accès à des médicaments sécuritaires, efficaces et de qualité supérieure. Le Ministère s'applique, en collaboration avec les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux et d'autres intervenants, à promouvoir une pharmacothérapie optimale et à investir les fonds publics dans des produits pharmaceutiques rentables et efficients.

Ressources disponibles

Dans cette section, vous trouverez une information complète sur les programmes de remboursement du prix des médicaments, sur la coopération intergouvernementale concernant la gestion des produits pharmaceutiques, ainsi que sur les coûts et l'établissement des prix des médicaments. Vous aurez également accès à diverses publications sur les forums et conférences, les lois et règlements, ainsi qu'à de nombreux rapports sur le sujet.