Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Help the Government of Canada organize its website! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.
First Nations & Inuit Health

Indian Residential Schools

The Indian Residential School (IRS) system grew out of Canada's missionary experience with various religious organizations. The federal government began to play a role in the development and administration of this system as early as 1874.

The schools were located in every province and territory, except Newfoundland, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island. Most residential schools ceased to operate by the mid-1970s; and the last federally-run residential school in Canada closed in 1996.

It is estimated there are 80,000 people alive today who attended residential schools.

Although it is not uncommon to hear former students speak about their positive experiences in residential schools, their stories are often overshadowed by disclosures of abuse, criminal convictions of offenders, and the legacy of the Indian Residential School system.

As part of the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement (IRS SA), Health Canada, in partnership withNext link will take you to another Web site Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada, provides services to former IRS students and their families through the Indian Residential Schools Resolution Health Support Program.

See The Path for Healing... webpage to learn about how the legacy of Indian Residential Schools is being addressed.

Indian Residential Schools Resolution Health Support Program

The Indian Residential Schools Resolution Health Support Program provides former IRS students and their families regardless of status or place or residence within Canada, with access to counselling, as well as cultural and emotional support services. The Program also provides assistance with the cost of transportation when counselling and cultural support services are not locally available.

To access these services or for more information, please call the toll-free line in your province/territory.

Related Resources

Postcard
The Health Support Services for Former Indian Residential School Students and Their Families postcard provides an outline of the services that are available to former students and their family members. The postcard also provides contact numbers that can be used to access services and obtain additional information.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Aidez Santé Canada à organiser le contenu Web sur le Programme des services de santé non assurés.
Il vous faudra environ 8 minutes pour répondre à un questionnaire anonyme. Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web Commencez maintenant
Santé des Premières nations et des Inuits

Soutien en santé aux pensionnats indiens

Le système des pensionnats indiens (PI) est issu de la période où les missionnaires de diverses organisations religieuses œuvraient au Canada. Le gouvernement fédéral a commencé à jouer un rôle dans le développement et l'administration de ce système en 1874.

Des pensionnats se trouvaient dans chaque province et territoire, sauf dans les provinces de Terre-Neuve, du Nouveau-Brunswick et de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard. La plupart de ces établissements ont fermé leurs portes au milieu des années 1970 et le dernier pensionnat administré par le gouvernement fédéral a fermé en 1996.

Le nombre d'anciens élèves des pensionnats encore en vie est estimé à 80 000.

Bien qu'il ne soit pas rare d'entendre d'anciens élèves parler de leurs expériences positives dans les pensionnats, leurs histoires sont souvent assombries par la divulgation des violences subies, la condamnation des délinquants et les séquelles laissées par le système des pensionnats indiens.

Dans le cadre de la Convention du règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens, Santé Canada, en collaboration avec Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada offre des services aux anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens et leur famille par l'intermédiaire du Programme de soutien en santé - résolution des questions des pensionnats indiens.

Consultez la page Web Le chemin de la guérison... pour en apprendre davantage sur la façon sont les séquelles laissées par les pensionnats indiens sont traitées.

Programme de soutien en santé - résolution des questions des pensionnats indiens

Le Programme de soutien en santé - résolution des questions des pensionnats indiens offre aux anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens et à leur famille des services de soutien psychologique/affectif et au mieux-être, et ce, quel que soit leur statut ou lieu de résidence.  Le programme offre aussi de l'aide financière pour les frais de déplacement chez un professionnel offrant des services de consultation et de soutien culturel qui ne sont pas disponibles localement.

Pour accéder à ces services ou pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, veuillez téléphoner au numéro sans frais de votre province ou territoire.

Ressources connexes