Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Food and Nutrition

Chemical Contaminants

Food contaminants and other adulterating substances are chemicals that may be present in foods at levels that could impact the overall safety and/or quality of foods. These substances can either be inadvertently present in foods or in some cases, have been intentionally added for fraudulent purposes.

Health Canada scientists are responsible for the assessment of risks to human health from exposure to food-borne chemical contaminants and other adulterating substances. Health Canada and the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) conduct regular surveillance of the levels of chemical contaminants in the Canadian food supply. Health Canada uses this information to estimate dietary exposure of Canadians to these substances. Health Canada scientists also conduct research and evaluate scientific data in order to better understand the effects that chemicals can have on the human body. Each of these activities is an essential component of a risk assessment, which is used to determine if dietary exposure to specific substances would result in a potential safety concern. Risk assessments also provide a basis for developing appropriate strategies to mitigate the risk of adverse health effects from exposure to contaminants in foods.

Risk management strategies vary depending on the situation. These types of actions can include providing advice and guidance to Canadians on the risks and benefits of particular food choices, providing direction on how to reduce contaminant levels, or setting maximum levels for contaminants in foods. For certain adulterating substances, a "zero tolerance" approach may be taken, which means that no amount of the substance in question would be considered acceptable in foods.

Health Canada's Maximum Levels for Chemical Contaminants in Foods are the maximum levels that are established by Health Canada and enforced by the Canadian Food Inspection Agency

Most chemical contaminants are inadvertently present in foods for one of many possible reasons, as summarised below:

Environmental Contamination

  • Certain chemicals are manufactured for industrial use and because they are very stable, they do not break down easily. If released to the environment, they can enter the food chain.
  • Other chemicals are naturally occurring, but industrial activities may increase their mobility, allowing them to enter the food chain at higher levels than would otherwise occur.

Processing-Induced Contamination

  • Undesirable chemicals can be formed in certain foods during processing as a result of reactions between compounds that are natural components of the food.
  • In some cases an undesirable chemical may be formed as a result of a food additive being intentionally added to food and reacting with another compound in the food.

Natural Toxins

  • Under certain conditions, some plants have the capacity to naturally produce compounds that are toxic to humans when ingested.
  • Certain climatic conditions may favour the growth of toxin-producing fungi on food crops (toxins produced by fungi are called "mycotoxins").
  • Shellfish may contain toxins as a result of filter-feeding on microscopic algae. In such a case, the algal toxin does not harm the shellfish but can be harmful to humans.

Accidental Point Source Contamination

  • Contamination during the preparation and packaging of processed foods.
  • Contamination of raw food commodities where grown (in the case of plants) or where raised (in the case of animals).
  • Contamination during transport or storage.

There are various programs in place, many of which have been developed by or with the support of the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA), that serve to guide those involved in food production, processing, and distribution in order to minimize the chances of accidental point sources of contamination. The CFIA's Food Safety Enhancement Program is an example of this.

Adulteration

  • Intentional addition of a chemical to a food for fraudulent purposes (e.g. intentionally substituting one ingredient for another and misrepresenting the final product)

Join Health Canada's Chemical Contaminants e-Notice, a free notification service for issued advice as well as regulatory and scientific developments in the area of food chemical contaminants in Canada.

For More Information

Health Canada:

Food Surveillance

Canadian Food Inspection Agency:

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Aliments et nutrition

Contaminants chimiques

Les contaminants alimentaires et les autres substances adultérantes sont des produits chimiques qui peuvent s'y trouver en teneurs risquant d'avoir une incidence sur l'innocuité globale et/ou la qualité des aliments. Ces substances peuvent être présentes dans ces aliments par inadvertance ou de manière intentionnelle pour des motifs frauduleux.

Les scientifiques de Santé Canada sont responsables de l'évaluation des risques pour la santé humaine liés à l'exposition à des contaminants chimiques d'origine alimentaire et à d'autres substances adultérantes. Santé Canada et l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (ACIA) surveillent régulièrement les teneurs en contaminants chimiques dans l'approvisionnement alimentaire canadien. Santé Canada recourt à l'information ainsi obtenue afin d'estimer l'exposition alimentaire à ces substances chez la population canadienne. Les scientifiques de Santé Canada mènent aussi des recherches et évaluent des données scientifiques afin de mieux comprendre les effets que les produits chimiques peuvent exercer sur l'organisme humain. Chacune de ces activités constitue une composante essentielle d'une évaluation des risques, laquelle est utilisée afin de déterminer si l'exposition alimentaire à des substances particulières susciterait une éventuelle préoccupation en matière d'innocuité. Les évaluations des risques constituent une base de référence permettant de mettre au point des stratégies adaptées pour réduire les risques d'effets indésirables sur la santé découlant de l'exposition aux contaminants présents dans les aliments.

Les stratégies de gestion des risques varient en fonction de la situation. Les types de démarches entreprises vont des consignes et des conseils offerts à la population canadienne en matière de risques et de bienfaits liés à certains choix alimentaires, jusqu'aux directives permettant de réduire les teneurs en contaminants, de même que l'établissement de concentrations maximales de contaminants dans les aliments. À l'égard de certaines substances adultérantes, la démarche de la « tolérance zéro » peut être adoptée, ce qui signifie qu'aucune quantité de la substance en question n'est considérée comme acceptable dans les aliments.

Les Concentrations maximales à l'égard de contaminants chimiques dans les aliments sont établies par Santé Canada et appliquées par l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments.

Septembre 2016 : Mise à jour de la Direction des aliments sur la voie à suivre pour les contaminants et autres substances aldutérantes dans les aliments

La plupart des contaminants chimiques se retrouvent dans les aliments par inadvertance, et ce pour plusieurs raisons telles que résumées ci-dessous:

Contamination environnementale

  • Certaines substances chimiques sont fabriquées à des fins industrielles et - en raison de leur grande stabilité - ne se dégradent pas facilement. Si elles sont éliminées dans l'environnement, elles peuvent entrer dans la chaîne alimentaire.
  • D'autres substances chimiques sont produites naturellement, mais leur mobilité peut être augmentée par des activités industrielles, leur permettant d'entrer dans la chaîne alimentaire en des concentrations plus élevées que la normale.

Contamination provoquée par la transformation des aliments

  • Des substances chimiques indésirables peuvent se former pendant la transformation de certains aliments et résulter de réactions entre composés faisant naturellement partie des composants de ces aliments.
  • Dans certains cas, une substance chimique indésirable peut se former à la suite de l'ajout volontaire dans un aliment d'un additif alimentaire qui réagit avec un autre composé de cet aliment.

Toxines naturelles

  • Sous des conditions particulières, certaines plantes produisent naturellement des composés toxiques pour les humains lorsqu'ils sont ingérés.
  • Certaines conditions climatiques peuvent favoriser la croissance de champignons produisant des toxines sur les cultures vivrières (les toxines produites par les champignons s'appellent des « mycotoxines »).
  • Les mollusques et les crustacés peuvent contenir des toxines à la suite de l'ingestion par filtration d'algues microscopiques. Dans ce cas, la toxine algaire n'est pas nocive pour les mollusques et crustacés, mais peut l'être pour les humains.

Contamination accidentelle à une source ponctuelle

  • Contamination pendant la préparation et l'emballage d'aliments transformés.
  • Contamination de matières premières alimentaires sur le lieu de culture (pour les plantes) ou d'élevage (pour les animaux).
  • Contamination pendant le transport ou l'entreposage.

De nombreux programmes sont mis en œuvre, et bon nombre d'entre eux ont été mis au point par l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (ACIA) ou avec le soutien de celle-ci, et servent de guides aux personnes œuvrant dans la production, la transformation et la distribution des aliments afin qu'elles réduisent les risques de contamination accidentelle à une source ponctuelle. Le Programme d'amélioration de la salubrité des aliments de l'ACIA en est un exemple.

Adultération

  • L'adjonction intentionnelle d'une substance chimique à un aliment pour des motifs frauduleux (p. ex., remplacer intentionnellement un ingrédient par un autre, entraînant une représentation trompeuse du produit final).

Abonnez-vous à l'Avis électronique sur les contaminants chimiques de Santé Canada. Il s'agit d'un service de notification gratuit qui vous permet de demeurer au fait des avis diffusés ainsi que des développements scientifiques et réglementaires dans le domaine des contaminants chimiques alimentaires.

Pour plus de renseignements

Santé Canada :

Surveillance des aliments

Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments