Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Help the Government of Canada organize its food and nutrition web content! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now (link will open in new window).
Food and Nutrition

Legislation and Guidelines

In this section, you will find information about legislation and guidelines related to Food and Nutrition.

Acts and Regulations

This section contains a link to the full text of the Food and Drugs Act and the Food and Drug Regulations from the Department of Justice Canada. It also provides access to proposed and recently adopted legislative and regulatory initiatives related to food and nutrition at Health Canada. To comment on these proposals, visit the Public Involvement and Consultation section of Health Canada.

Guidelines

Guidelines explain to stakeholders what is required to meet the Food and Drugs Act and Food and Drug Regulations. They provide guidance as to how the department interprets the Act, the Regulations and related policies and how the department intends to apply them.

Policies

Policies are created to describe Health Canada's position on an issue. In this section, you will find policies on such subjects as raw foods of animal origin, nutraceuticals/functional foods and healthy eating.

Other Sections of Interest

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Aliments et nutrition

Législation et lignes directrices

Cette section contient des renseignements sur la législation et les lignes directrices relatives aux aliments et à la nutrition.

Les lois et règlements

Cette section contient un lien à la Loi sur les aliments et drogues et au Règlement sur les aliments et drogues du Ministère de la Justice Canada. Elle donne également accès aux aux initiatives législatives et réglementaires proposées et récemment adoptées qui touchent aux aliments et à la nutrition à Santé Canada. Pour faire des commentaires sur ces initiatives, visitez la section Participation du public et consultation, à la rubrique sur les aliments et la nutrition.

Les lignes directrices

Les lignes directrices expliquent aux intervenants les mesures à prendre pour se conformer à la Loi sur les aliments et drogues et au Règlement sur les aliments et drogues. Elles donnent une orientation sur la façon dont le Ministère interprète la Loi, le Règlement et les politiques connexes, et sur la façon dont il se propose de les appliquer.

Les politiques

Les politiques décrivent la position de Santé Canada sur une question donnée. Dans cette section, vous trouverez des politiques sur des sujets tels que les aliments crus d'origine animale, les aliments nutraceutiques ou fonctionnels et la saine alimentation.

Autres sections d'intérêt