Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Help the Government of Canada organize its food and nutrition web content! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now (link will open in new window).
Food and Nutrition

Food Allergen Labelling

For those with food allergies, sensitivities or intolerances, avoiding specific foods and ingredients is an important health challenge. An allergic individual coming into contact with an undeclared allergen such as peanuts in a food product may have symptoms that develop quickly and rapidly progress from mild to severe, including anaphylactic shock and death. For those suffering from celiac disease, the only current treatment is to maintain a strict gluten-free diet.

On February 16th, 2011 Health Canada Published Amendments to the Food Allergen Labelling Regulations in Canada Gazette, Part II (CGII)

Canada's new food allergen labelling regulations came into force on August 4, 2012

The Food and Drug Regulations require that most prepackaged foods carry a label and that the ingredients appear on labels in decreasing order of proportion. However, some ingredients used in food products which were previously exempt from declaration in the list of ingredients, (e.g., components of margarine, seasoning and flour) will now be required to appear on food labels also.

Based on consultations with stakeholders, including allergy associations and the medical community, Health Canada developed amendments to the Regulations to enhance labelling requirements for specific priority allergens, gluten sources and added sulphites in prepackaged foods sold in Canada.

Health Canada first published its proposed regulatory amendments in Canada Gazette, Part I, on July 26, 2008 to allow for public comment. Health Canada then took into consideration all comments received until November 28, 2008 before bringing the final regulations forward and publishing them in the Canada Gazette, Part II. For information on the federal government's regulatory process, on the Next link will take you to another Web site Government of Canada Regulation Web Site

For more information on Canada's Food Allergen Labelling Regulatory Amendments, please see the following information:

June 2013

March 2012

February 2011

Due to the complexity of the changes and the shelf-life of foods, Health Canada provided manufacturers with 18 months to implement the new allergen labelling regulations. Health Canada continues to encourage industry to declare priority allergens, gluten sources and added sulphites on prepackaged food labels to provide Canadians with the information necessary to make informed food choices.

Beer products whose components respect the standards of composition for beer in the Food and Drug Regulations are considered "standardized". Such "standardized" beers are not required to carry an ingredient list. Standardized beer is always made from barley and or wheat, and is therefore not suitable for individuals with celiac disease to consume. Beer can also contain other allergens or sulphites depending on the individual product.

As previously advised by Health Canada, a food allergic consumer should always seek out products with a list of ingredients. This is also applicable to beer products. Health Canada also advises that food allergic consumers continue to contact the product manufacturer directly to determine the ingredients present within an unlabelled beer product.

Previous Updates

June 2010

August 2009

Other information

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Aliments et nutrition

Étiquetage des allergènes alimentaires

Pour les personnes atteintes d'allergies, de sensibilités ou d'intolérances alimentaires, éviter certains aliments et certains ingrédients constitue un défi de taille. Chez une personne allergique mise en contact avec un allergène non déclaré, tel que des arachides dans un produit alimentaire, des symptômes peuvent se manifester rapidement et passer, en peu de temps, de légers à graves. Un tel épisode peut même se conclure par un choc anaphylactique ou la mort. Actuellement, le seul moyen de prendre en charge la maladie cœliaque consiste à observer un régime alimentaire strictement exempt de gluten.

Le 16 février 2011, Santé Canada a publié les modifications à la réglementation sur l'étiquetage des allergènes alimentaires dans la partie II de la Gazette du Canada (GC II)

La nouvelle réglementation canadienne sur l'étiquetage des allergènes alimentaires est entrée en vigueur le 4 août 2012

En vertu du Règlement sur les aliments et drogues (le Règlement), la plupart des aliments préemballés doivent porter une étiquette sur laquelle les ingrédients qu'ils contiennent sont énumérés dans l'ordre décroissant de leur proportion. Cependant, certains ingrédients utilisés dans les produits alimentaires, lesquels étaient exemptés d'une telle déclaration dans la liste d'ingrédients (par exemple les constituants de la margarine, des assaisonnements et de la farine) devront désormais figurer également sur l'étiquette des aliments.

À partir de consultations avec les parties prenantes, dont les associations qui représentent les personnes allergiques et la communauté médicale, Santé Canada a préparé des modifications au Règlement afin d'augmenter les exigences relatives à l'étiquetage d'allergènes alimentaires prioritaires particuliers, des sources de gluten et des sulfites ajoutés présents dans les aliments préemballés vendus au Canada.

Afin de recevoir les commentaires du public, le 26 juillet 2008, Santé Canada a d'abord publié, dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada, sa proposition de modifications au Règlement. Santé Canada a ensuite tenu compte de tous les commentaires reçus jusqu'au 28 novembre 2008 avant de préparer la version définitive du Règlement modifié et de la publier dans la partie II de la Gazette du Canada. Pour connaître le processus réglementaire du gouvernement fédéral, veuillez consulter la Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web page web du gouvernement du Canada consacrée à la réglementation

Pour plus de renseignements sur les modifications à la réglementation canadienne sur l'étiquetage des allergènes alimentaires, veuillez consulter les sources suivantes :

Juin 2013

Mars 2012

Février 2011

En raison de la complexité des modifications et de la durée de conservation à l'étalage des aliments, Santé Canada a accordé aux fabricants 18 mois pour la mise en œuvre de la nouvelle réglementation sur l'étiquetage des allergènes alimentaires. Santé Canada encourage toujours l'industrie à déclarer les allergènes alimentaires prioritaires, les sources de gluten et les sulfites ajoutés sur l'étiquette des aliments préemballés pour fournir à la population canadienne l'information dont elle a besoin pour faire des choix alimentaires éclairés.

Les produits à base de bières dont les composés respectent les normes de composition de la bière selon le Règlement sur les Aliments et les Drogues sont considérés comme normalisés. Ces bières normalisées ne sont pas tenues d'avoir une liste d'ingrédients. Les bières normalisées sont toujours fabriquées à partir d'orge et/ou de blé et leur consommation n'est pas recommandée pour les personnes atteintes de la maladie céliaque. La bière peut contenir par ailleurs d'autres allergènes et des sulfites dont la présence dépend du produit considéré.

Comme l'a auparavant recommandé Santé Canada, les personnes allergiques devraient toujours rechercher des produits possèdant une liste d'ingrédients. Ceci est également applicable pour les produits à base de bières. Santé Canada recommande également aux consommateurs allergiques de continuer à prendre directement contact avec le fabricant pour identifier les ingrédients présents dans les produits à base de bières non étiquetés.

Mises à jour antérieures

Juin 2010

Août 2009

Renseignements supplémentaires