Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Help the Government of Canada organize its website! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.
Environmental and Workplace Health

Employer Requirements

Information contained in this section is of a general nature only and is not intended to constitute advice for any specific fact situation. For particular questions, users are invited to contact their lawyer and/or the occupational safety and health authority having jurisdiction for their workplace.

Employer Obligations - Overview

WHMIS is implemented through coordinated federal, provincial and territorial legislation. Supplier labelling and MSDS requirements are set out under the Hazardous Products Act (HPA) and associated Controlled Products Regulations administered by Health Canada. Each of the thirteen provincial, territorial and federal agencies responsible for occupational safety and health have established employer WHMIS requirements within their respective jurisdiction. These requirements place an onus on employers to ensure that controlled products used, stored, handled or disposed of in the workplace are properly labelled, MSDSs are made available to workers, and workers receive education and training to ensure the safe storage, handling and use of controlled products in the workplace.

To promote national consistency in the application of WHMIS in Canada's workplaces, the government of each province and territory, as well as [the Labour Program at] Human Resources and Social Development Canada, which is responsible for workplaces under federal jurisdiction, established their respective employer requirements based on "Model [WHMIS] OSH Regulations". This model was prepared by the Occupational Health and Safety Committee of the Canadian Association of Administrators of Labour Legislation.

At the outset of the program (which came into effect on October 31, 1988), all governments agreed to undertake consultations on any proposed changes to their respective WHMIS legislation and regulations with the objective of maintaining consistency with developments in the national consensus on WHMIS. The Intergovernmental WHMIS Coordinating Committee, (see "Administration & Consultation" page), serves as the forum for this consultation.

Employer WHMIS Requirements

The WHMIS page on the Next link will take you to another Web site Human Resources and Skills Development Canada Website provides a summary of WHMIS employer requirements.

Compliance Policy

As WHMIS is an information continuum, a single national compliance policy for both the supplier and employer requirements has been established. This policy is accessible from the "Compliance" page of this site.

Links To Acts And Regulations:

The acts and regulations under which Canada's thirteen federal, provincial and territorial occupational health and safety agencies have established WHMIS employer requirements within their respective jurisdictions are as follows. For enquiries related to these requirements, please contact the appropriate agency:

  Legislation Regulations
AB

Occupational Health and Safety Act

Next link will take you to another Web site Occupational Health and Safety Code, Part 29

BC

Workers Compensation Act

Next link will take you to another Web site Occupational Health and Safety Regulation, Part 5: Chemical Agents and Biological Agents

HRSDC

Canada Labour Code, Part II, Occupational Health and Safety

Next link will take you to another Web site Relevant regulations:
  • Aviation Occupational Safety and Health Regulations
  • Canada Occupational Health and Safety Regulations
  • Coal Mining Occupational Health and Safety Regulations
  • Maritime Occupational Safety and Health Regulations
  • Oil and Gas Occupational Safety and Health Regulations
  • On Board Trains Occupational Safety and Health Regulations
  • Safety and Health Committees and Representatives Regulations
MB

Workplace Safety and Health Act

Next link will take you to another Web site Workplace Safety and Health Regulation - Part 35 - Workplace Hazardous Materials Information System (Workplace Hazardous Information Systems)

NB

Occupational Health and Safety Act

Next link will take you to another Web site Workplace Hazardous Materials Information System Regulation, NB 88-221

NF

Occupational Health and Safety Act

Next link will take you to another Web site Workplace Hazardous Materials Information System (WHMIS) Regulations (NF Regulation 1149/96)

NS

Occupational Health and Safety Act

Next link will take you to another Web site WHMIS Regulations

NWT and Nunavut

The North-West Territories and Nunavut Safety Act

Next link will take you to another Web site WHMIS Regulations

ON

Occupational Health and Safety Act

Next link will take you to another Web site WHMIS regulation R.R.O. 1990, Reg. 860, as amended by: O. Reg. 36/93

PEI

Occupational Health and Safety Act, Chapter O-1.01
(R.S.P.E.I. 1988, Cap. 0-1)

Next link will take you to another Web site Workplace Hazardous Materials Information Regulations

QC

"Loi sur la santÚ et la sÚcuritÚ du travail"

Next link will take you to another Web site RŔglement sur l'information concernant les produits contr˘lÚs - available in French only

SK

Occupational Health and Safety Act

Next link will take you to another Web site Part XXII of the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) Regulations, 1996

YK

Occupational Health and Safety Act

Next link will take you to another Web site Occupational Health and Safety Regulations, WHMIS Regulations

Education & Training - FAQs

The Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety web site provides a description of WHMIS Education and Training requirements; (see under "Chemicals and Materials" of the 'OSH Answers' section of the site) including guidance on what constitutes "education" as distinct from site-specific "training":

Q. (education and training, certificate) Do Canadian workers require WHMIS certification?

A. No. WHMIS laws do not require that workers be issued a "certificate", card or any other document to demonstrate that they have received WHMIS education and/or training. (Note: Neither Health Canada, nor any other regulatory authority, issues WHMIS certificates to workers.

Q. (education and training, certificate, replacement) How do I replace my lost "certificate"?

A. If you are interested in replacing a document which indicates that you have received WHMIS education, please contact the party from whom you obtained it.

Q. (education and training, certification, trainers) Must WHMIS trainers be certified?

A. No. At present, there is no program authorized or endorsed by government to certify WHMIS trainers.

Q. (education and training, frequency) How often must a worker receive WHMIS education and training?

A. please contact the occupational health and safety regulatory authority having jurisdiction for the workplace.

Q. (education and training, legal responsibility) Does possession of a WHMIS "certificate" by a worker fulfill the employer's obligation to ensure that the worker has received WHMIS education and training?

A. No. The employer has the legal obligation to ensure that his/her workers have received both generic WHMIS education as well as the necessary site-specific training. The employer may, in consultation with the health and safety committee, delegate the development and administration of the education and training programs to the employer's health and safety committee or fulfill his/her legal obligations by hiring a service provider. (Note: A WHMIS "certificate" may be issued by a company to its employees or, for example, by an academic institution or a safety association. However, the possession of such a certificate by a worker does not absolve Canadian employers from their legal responsibility to ensure that each employee receives appropriate WHMIS education and applicable site-specific training including the provision of training updates and refresher courses when warranted by a change in duties and/or where required by law by the occupational health and safety regulatory authority having jurisdiction: http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/ewh-semt/occup-travail/whmis-simdut/reg-org-eng.php.

Q. (education and training, portability) Does the WHMIS education and training received in relation to a given workplace suffice for all workplaces in Canada?

A. Generic WHMIS education can apply to any workplace. However, exposure to controlled products will depend on the nature of the work. Thus, the employer must ensure that each of his/her employees receive site-specific training that is applicable to the work that the employee is required to perform.

Q. (education, web-based) Where can I obtain web-based WHMIS education?

A. Web-based WHMIS education services are commercially available and providers may advertize their services in, for example, occupational health and safety publications. (Note: Web-based services may cover generic WHMIS education but may not provide the necessary site-specific training on the safe handling and use of controlled products. Although a regulatory authority may list a service provider, neither the content nor quality of such programs is regulated by government.)

Frequently Asked Questions

Q. If an employer imports a WHMIS controlled product for use in his/her workplace, does the employer have the option of labelling the product with a workplace label as opposed to a supplier label?

A. An importer of a controlled product is subject to the supplier MSDS and label requirements of section 14 of the HPA. As required by subsection 23(4) of the CPR, an importer who imports a controlled products that is to be labelled or repackaged in Canada must apply a supplier label to the controlled product or to the container in which the controlled product is packaged in accordance with paragraph 14(b) of the HPA, (i.e., in accordance with the CPR), "before the controlled product is used".

Q. Where can I obtain information concerning occupational health and safety issues pertaining to young workers?

A. The Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety website provides a Next link will take you to another Web site "Young Workers' Zone" which includes information on the hazards associated with jobs often held by young workers. This site also provides links to provincial educational programs and health and safety resources targeted to young workers.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Santé de l'environnement et du milieu de travail

Exigences des employeur

Les renseignements donnés dans le présent article sont uniquement de nature générale et ne visent pas à fournir des conseils sur des situations particulières. Pour des questions particulières, les utilisateurs sont priés de s'adresser à leur avocat et/ou à leur agence de santé et sécurité au travail.

Obligations des employeurs - aperçu

Le SIMDUT est mis en oeuvre au moyen de lois fédérales, provinciales et territoriales coordonnées. Les exigences du SIMDUT en matière d'étiquetage et d'établissement de fiches signalétiques par le fournisseur sont énoncées dans la Loi sur les produits dangereux et dans le Règlement sur les produits contrôlés, qui sont administrés par Santé Canada. Chacune des treize agences provinciales, territoriales ou fédérale responsables de la santé et de la sécurité au travail a établi des exigences relatives au SIMDUT pour les employeurs qui relèvent de sa compétence. Ces exigences imposent aux employeurs l'obligation de s'assurer que les produits contrôlés qui sont utilisés, emmagasinés, manipulés ou éliminés dans un milieu de travail sont dûment étiquetés, que des fiches signalétiques sont fournies aux travailleurs et que ces derniers reçoivent une éducation et une formation propres à assurer l'entreposage, la manutention et l'utilisation sécuritaires des produits contrôlés en milieu de travail.

Afin de promouvoir l'application uniforme du SIMDUT dans les divers milieux de travail au Canada, le gouvernement de chaque province ou territoire ainsi que la Direction Travail, de Ressources humaines et Développement social Canada, qui a la responsabilité des milieux de travail relevant du gouvernement fédéral, ont établi leurs exigences respectives à l'égard des employeurs en se fondant sur le « modèle de règlement SST [SIMDUT] » qui a été élaboré par le Comité d'hygiène et de sécurité au travail de l'Association canadienne des administrateurs de la législation ouvrière.

Dès le début du programme (en vigueur depuis le 31 octobre 1988), tous les gouvernements ont convenu de tenir des consultations sur toute modification proposée de leurs lois ou règlements touchant le SIMDUT afin de maintenir l'uniformité avec le dévelopement d'un consensus national à propos du SIMDUT. Le Comité intergouvernemental de coordination SIMDUT (CICS), (voir la page « Administration et consultation ») sert de tribune pour ces consultations.

Obligations du SIMDUT des employeurs

La page sur le SIMDUT affichée sur le site Internet de Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada présente un sommaire des exigences qui s'appliquent aux employeurs.

Politique de conformité

Comme le SIMDUT est un continuum informationnel, une politique nationale de conformité concernant aussi bien les exigences du SIMDUT B l'égard des fournisseurs que celles B l'égard des employeurs a été établie. Cette politique est accessible B partir de la page "Conformité" de ce site.

Liens avec les lois et les règlements

L'information suivante provient d'une organisation qui n'est pas assujettie à la Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Loi sur les langues officielles et, par conséquent, est disponible uniquement dans la langue utilisée par cette organisation.

Vous trouverez ci-après les lois et règlements en vertu desquels les treize agences de santé et sécurité au travail (fédérale, provinciales et territoriales) ont établi les exigences du SIMDUT pour les employeurs relevant de leur compétence. Pour obtenir des renseignements sur ces exigences, communiquez avec l'agence appropriée :

  Loi Règlements
AB

Occupational Health and Safety Act

Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Occupational Health and Safety Code, Part 29 - disponible en anglais seulement

CB

Workers Compensation Act

Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web "Occupational Health and Safety Regulation, Part 5: Chemical Agents and Biological Agents" - disponible en anglais seulement

ÎPÉ

Occupational Health and Safety Act, Chapter 0-1.01

Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Workplace Hazardous Materials Information Regulations - disponible en anglais seulement

MB

Loi sur la sécurité et l'hygiène du travail

Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Règlement sur la sécurité et la santé au travail - Partie 35 - Systèmes d'information relatifs aux matières dangereuse dans le lieux de travail

NB

Loi sur l'hygiène et la sécurité au travail

Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Règlement du Nouveau-Brunswick 88-221 : Système d'information sur les matières dangereuses utilisées au travail

Occupational Health and Safety Act

Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web WHMIS Regulations (amended to NS Reg. 64/89) - disponible en anglais seulement

ON

Loi de la santé et la sécurité au travail

Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Règlement du SIMDUT R.R.O. 1990, Règl. 860, tel qu'il est modifié par le : Règl. 36/93

QC

Loi sur la santé et la sécurité du travail

Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Règlement sur l'information concernant les produits contrôlés

RHDCC

Partie II du Code canadien du travail « à la santé et la sécurité du travail »

Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Règlements pertinentes:
  • Règlements canadien sur la santé et la sécurité au travail
  • Règlements sur la sécurité et la santé au travail (aé ronefs)
  • Règlements sur la sécurité et la santé au travail en milieu maritime
  • Règlement sur la Commission de la sécurité dans les mines de charbon
  • Règlements sur la sécurité et la santé au travail (pét role et gaz)
  • Règlements sur la sécurité et la santé au travail (trains)
  • Règlement sur les comités de sécurité et de santé et les représentants
SK

Occupational Health and Safety Act

Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Part XXII of the Occupational Health and Safety Regulations 1996

TN

The Occupational Health and Safety Act

Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Workplace Hazardous Materials Information System (WHMIS) Regulations (NF Regulation 1149/96) - disponible en anglais seulement

TNW et Nunavut

The North-West Territories and Nunavut Safety Act

Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web WHMIS Regulations - disponible en anglais seulement

YK

Occupational Health and Safety Act

Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Occupational Health and Safety Regulations, WHMIS Regulations - disponible en anglais seulement

Éducation et formation - questions souvent posées

Le site Web du Centre canadien d'hygiène et de sécurité au travail fournit une description des exigences du SIMDUT en matière d'éducation et de formation (voir « Produits et substances chimiques » dans la section « Réponses SST » du site Internet. Ceci inclut une distinction entre ce que l'on veut dire par "éducation" et "formation" spécifique à un site de travail donné.

  • Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web  Réponses SST
    http://www.cchst.ca/reponsessst/legisl/intro_whmis.html

Q. (Certificat) Est-ce que les travailleurs canadiens requièrent un certificat du SIMDUT?

R. Non. Les lois du SIMDUT n'exigent pas que les travailleurs possèdent un certificat, une carte ou n'importe quel autre document qui démontre qu'ils ont reçu une éducation et/ou une formation en matière du SIMDUT. (Note: Les certificats du SIMDUT ne sont fournies aux travailleurs ni par Santé Canada ni par aucun organisme de réglementation en matière du SIMDUT.)

Q. (Certificat, remplacement) Comment pourrais-je remplacer mon certificat perdu?

R. Si vous voulez remplacer un document indiquant que vous avez reçu de la formation en matière du SIMDUT, veuillez communiquer avec l'organisme qui vous l'a fourni.

Q. (Certification, formateurs) Est-ce que les formateurs en matière du SIMDUT doivent posséder une certification?

R. Non. Actuellement, il n'y a aucun programme autorisé ou appuyé par le gouvernement afin de certifier les formateurs en matière du SIMDUT.

Q. (Éducation et formation, fréquence) Combien de fois un travailleur devrait-il recevoir de la formation en matière du SIMDUT?

R. Veuillez contacter l'organisme de santé et de sécurité au travail qui a la juridiction sur le milieu de travail.

Q. (Éducation et formation, responsabilité légale) Est-ce que la possession d'un certificat SIMDUT par un employé répond à l'obligation de l'employeur d'assurer que le travailleur aurait lui aussi reçu l'éducation et la formation en matière du SIMDUT?

R. Non. L'employeur a l'obligation légale d'assurer que ses travailleurs reçoivent l'éducation générale ainsi que la formation nécessaire spécifique au site du travail. L'employeur, en consultation avec le comité de santé et sécurité au travail, pourrait soit déléguer le développement et l'administration des programmes d'éducation et de formation au comité de santé et de sécurité soit répondre à ses obligations légales en engageant un fournisseur de services. (Note: Un certificat SIMDUT pourrait être fourni par une compagnie à ses employés ou par exemple par une institution académique ou par une association de sécurité. Cependant, la possession de ce certificat par un travailleur n'exonérera pas les employeurs canadiens de leur responsabilité d'assurer que chaque employé reçoive une éducation appropriée et une formation spécifique au site, y compris de mettre à la disposition des travailleurs une formation de mise à jour et des cours de recyclage lorsque ceci est justifié par un changement de fonction et/ou lorsque c'est légalement requis par l'organisme de réglementation de la santé et de la sécurité au travail qui en a juridiction http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/ewh-semt/occup-travail/whmis-simdut/reg-org-fra.php.

Q. (Éducation et formation, transférabilité) Est-ce que l'éducation et la formation en matière du SIMDUT reçues en relation avec un milieu de travail est suffisante pour tous les milieux de travail au Canada?

R. L'éducation générale en matière du SIMDUT peut être appliquée à n'importe quel milieu de travail. L'exposition aux produits contrôlés dépondra, cependant, sur la nature du travail. De ce fait, l'employeur doit assurer que tous ses travailleurs reçoivent une formation spécifique au site du travail et qui est de ce fait applicable au travail que ces derniers sont obligés d'effectuer.

Q. (Éducation, sur le Web) Où pourrais-je obtenir une éducation en matière du SIMDUT sur le Web?

R. Les services d'éducation en matière du SIMDUT basés sur le Web sont commercialement disponibles et les fournisseurs de ces services peuvent publier leurs services dans des magazines de santé et de sécurité au travail par exemple. (Note : Les services d'éducation sur le Web peuvent couvrir l'éducation théorique, mais peuvent ne pas fournir la formation nécessaire spécifique du site sur la manutention sécuritaire et l'utilisation de produits contrôlés. Même si un organisme de réglementation liste un fournisseur de services, ceci ne veut pas dire que le contenu et la qualité de ces programmes sont réglementés par le gouvernement).

Questions souvent posées

Q. Si un employeur importe un produit contrôlé selon le SIMDUT pour utilisation dans son lieu du travail, a-t-il la possibilité d'apposer sur le produit une étiquette du lieu de travail plutôt qu'une étiquette du fournisseur?

R. L'importateur d'un produit contrôlé est soumis aux exigences de l'article 14 de la Loi sur les produits dangereux qui s'appliquent aux fournisseurs relativement aux fiches signalétiques et à l'étiquetage. Conformément au paragraphe 23(4) du Règlement sur les produits contrôlés, une personne qui importe un produit contrôlé qui doit être étiqueté ou remballé au Canada doit apposer une étiquette du fournisseur sur le produit contrôlé ou sur le contenant dans lequel il est emballé, conformément à l'alinéa 14(b) de la Loi sur les produits dangereux (c'est-à-dire conformément au Règlement sur les produits contrôlés), « avant que le produit contrôlé soit utilisé ».

Q. Où peut on obtenir des renseignements concernant la santé et la sécurité au travail pour les jeunes travailleurs?

R. Le site Web du Centre canadien d'hygiène et de sécurité au travail fournit Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web « La Zone des jeunes travailleurs » contient des renseignements sur les dangers associés à des emplois généralement occupés par des jeunes travailleurs. Ce site renferme aussi, des liens pour des programmes provinciaux d'éducation, de même que des ressources en matière de la santé et la sécurité destinées aux jeunes travailleurs.