Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Drugs and Health Products

Community Pharmacy Inspection Program Annual Report, Fiscal Year 2015-2016

What We Do

The Office of Controlled Substances (OCS) regulates the distribution and sale of precursors and controlled substances. This includes administering legislation, regulations, policies and operational activities that support the monitoring of controlled substances such as oxycodone, morphine, fentanyl, and heroin and precursor chemicals used to make these and other drugs. This administration allows for oversight of licit controlled substances, and can therefore reduce the risk of substances moving from legitimate channels to illegal markets.

The Regulatory Operations and Regions Branch (RORB) carries out the operational functions that allow for the control of licit substances. This includes inspecting selected community pharmacies to ensure compliance with the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act (CDSA) and its relevant Regulations and following up with pharmacists or persons in charge after the release of the Inspection Report.

Background

OCS operates under the authority of the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act (CDSA) and its associated Regulations including the Benzodiazepines and Other Targeted Substances Regulations, the Narcotic Control Regulations (NCR), the Precursor Control Regulations and Parts G and J of the Food and Drug Regulations. The CDSA provides a framework to control substances that can alter mental processes and that may produce harm to health and to society when diverted or misused. Its purpose is to protect public health and maintain public safety by balancing the legitimate need for access to these substances for medical, scientific and industrial purposes with the need to minimize the risk of their diversion to the illegal market.

OCS conducts compliance and monitoring activities such as inspections to ensure regulated parties (pharmacists, researchers, licensed dealers, etc.) are compliant with the CDSA and its regulations. OCS staff work with other groups within Health Canada and with external partners including the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, local law enforcement, the Canada Border Services Agency, and provincial and territorial professional licensing authorities such as the Colleges of pharmacists and physicians and their professional associations to minimize potential situations in which controlled substances could be diverted to illegal markets, and that researchers, health care practitioners and patients alike are engaged in the proper storage, use and disposal of these substances. In addition, OCS refers suspicious activities to the relevant College and shares information with the Colleges and/or law enforcement agencies to assist in investigations when requested.

Through these and other activities, OCS is committed to minimizing the diversion and misuse of controlled substances.

Prescription Drug Misuse

Prescription drug misuse, particularly problematic opioid use, represents a complex and growing problem for public health and public safety in many communities across Canada.

As frontline health care service providers, pharmacists are important partners in supporting public health initiatives to prevent problematic opioid use. Increasing the number of pharmacy inspections and collecting, analyzing and reporting on the data will support the outcomes of Health Canada's new Opioid Action Plan, focusing on:

  • preventing problematic drug and substance use;
  • supporting innovative approaches to treatment and rehabilitation;
  • supporting measures that reduce the negative consequences of drug and substance use; and
  • addressing illicit drug production, supply and distribution.

Executive Summary

The OCS helps protect Canadians by authorizing the legitimate use of controlled substances and precursor chemicals using a risk-based assessment and evaluation process and by performing compliance and monitoring activities to minimize the risk of illicit diversion. From April 1, 2015 to March 31, 2016, RORB carried out 157 pharmacy inspections across Canada. The most common observations cited within a pharmacy inspection report were inventory reconciliation issues related to record keeping, and security issues linked to the required submission of loss and theft reports to Health Canada. The education of pharmacists on the requirements of the CDSA and its associated Regulations, may reduce the incidence of these types of observations.

Community Pharmacy Inspection Program

In 2015, Health Canada announced that it would conduct 1000 compliance promotion inspections in community pharmacies across the country by 2019 - 100 inspections were planned for April 2015 to March 2016 and 300 per year are planned for fiscal years 2016-17, 2017-18 and 2018-19. Health Canada has hired 19 new inspectors to conduct these inspections - 9 permanent and 10 temporary. Starting in fiscal year 2019-20, approximately 180 inspections will be carried out annually by the 9 permanent inspectors located across Canada.

The objectives of the Community Pharmacy Inspection Program are to: promote compliance among pharmacists; strengthen cooperation and communication between Health Canada, pharmacists and their provincial authorities and associations; and facilitate national information sharing to combat prescription drug misuse including problematic opioid use.

The selection of community pharmacies to be inspected is random but representative of the distribution of the estimated 9710 community pharmacies across Canada, as per Table 1 below.

Table 1. Number and proportion of pharmacies in Canada by province/territory for fiscal year 2015-16
Date Province Inspected Estimated Numbers of
Pharmacies in Canada
as of October 2015
Estimated percentage
of Pharmacies in
Canada as of October
2015
2015-16 British Columbia 1235 13%
Alberta 1121 12%
Saskatchewan 359 4%
Manitoba 403 4%
Ontario 3933 41%
Qubec 1873 19%
New Brunswick 216 2%
Prince Edward Island 47 0.5%
Nova Scotia 304 3%
Newfoundland and Labrador 195 2%
Northwest Territories 11 0.1%
Yukon 8 0.1%
Nunavut 5 0.1%
Totals 9710  

During an inspection, Health Canada inspectors examine purchase records, prescription records, loss and theft reports, destruction protocols, inventory reconciliation, security measures in place at the pharmacy, and any other relevant information. Inspectors are looking for discrepancies between records and actual inventory, gaps in security measures, and overall practices in the management of controlled substances. All discrepancies are recorded in an inspection report which is provided to the pharmacist for discussion, to promote and encourage compliance and to undertake corrective action. In cases where significant discrepancies are observed, Health Canada may decide to conduct further targeted inspections at the pharmacy, and/or share the findings of the inspection with the relevant provincial regulatory College for follow-up.

Inspections and Observations

The Annual Report for fiscal year 2015-16 provides a summary of findings from the Community Pharmacy Inspection Program. Only 100 pharmacy inspections were planned for this year, however 157 were conducted, as additional inspections were added to provide on-the-job training opportunities for new inspectors prior to the launch of the program in November 2015. These additional 57 inspections were conducted in the first two quarters of the fiscal year and part of the third quarter.

Table 2. Total number of inspections and inspections by quarter, by province/territory for fiscal year 2015-16
Date Province
Inspected
Number of Inspections Inspections by Quarter
Planned Completed Q1
(Apr-Jun)
Q2
(Jul-Sep)
Q3
(Oct-Dec)
Q4
(Jan-Mar)
2015-16 British Columbia 13 26 0 8 9 9
Alberta 12 21 1 4 7 9
Saskatchewan 4 4 0 0 2 2
Manitoba 4 4 0 0 2 2
Ontario 40 68 0 22 24 22
Qubec 19 25 0 5 5 15
New Brunswick 2 2 0 0 0 2
Prince Edward Island 1 1 0 0 0 1
Nova Scotia 3 4 0 0 3 1
Newfoundland and Labrador 2 2 0 0 2 0
Totals 100 157 1 39 54 63

In conducting inspections, inspectors record observations linked to regulatory requirements. These observations can be grouped into the three broad categories outlined below. In some cases, observations noted within an inspection required follow-up in the form of a targeted inspection to ensure that compliance measures were taken by the pharmacy after the initial inspection results.

1. Record Keeping Requirements

Under the CDSA and its regulations, pharmacists are required to keep records of transactions such as refills, prescription transfers, and orders received. Inspectors verify records kept by pharmacists to ensure that accurate records are kept. Of the total number of inspections, there were issues with recordkeeping approximately 64% of the time.

Inspectors often noted that inventory records were incomplete or inaccurate, or may have been corrected without an explanation if there was an overage or shortage of controlled substances. Another common finding was that a complete and accurate record of purchases of controlled substances made by pharmacies were not always kept so it was not possible to determine when and what types of substances were purchased by the pharmacy. There were also issues with the keeping of a special narcotics file. In accordance with the NCR, all records of a narcotic prescription must be recorded in a separate file. This file must be kept complete and current, and be made available upon request to a Health Canada inspector. Inspectors often found that narcotic prescriptions were filed with regular prescriptions and vice versa, or that a separate narcotics file was not kept at all.

Of the 7 pharmacies inspected that were referred for a targeted inspection, 4 were referred for record-keeping observations.

2. Security Requirements

There are also security requirements under the CDSA that are verified during an inspection. These requirements are in place to help pharmacies reduce the risk of loss or theft of controlled substances. Inspectors check practices such as the sharing of keys and/or alarm codes with pharmacy technicians or other pharmacy staff, the accessibility of the pharmacy after-hours, and the submission of loss and theft reports to Health Canada. During the 2015-16 Community Pharmacy Inspection Program, Health Canada inspectors observed security-related issues approximately 93% of the time. Most observations were of a minor or non-critical nature, however in some cases inspectors found that controlled substances were stored in unsecured locations such as unlocked safes, drawers, or open cabinets, meaning that the risk of loss or theft was higher.

Of the 7 pharmacies inspected that were referred for a targeted inspection, all 7 were referred for security-related observations.

3. Provide, Sale and Return Requirements

The NCR also requires that pharmacists appropriately carry out all activities related to the management of controlled substances, such as providing and selling controlled substances, as well as returning unused substances to vendors. This includes requirements around prescription filling and refilling, the return of controlled substances by the pharmacist to the licensed dealer when unused, and the management of methadone prescriptions. Of the total number of inspections, there were issues with stock management observed approximately 27% of the time. For example, some pharmacists over-filled prescriptions, exceeding the quantity specified by the medical practitioner, or dispensed a substance that was not identical to that indicated on the prescription, both of which can lead to irregularities in inventory reconciliation.

Of the 7 pharmacies inspected that were referred for a targeted inspection, 2 were referred for provision, sale and return observations.

Conclusion

In addition to conducting inspections to promote compliance with the regulations, the Community Pharmacy Inspection Program provides the opportunity for Health Canada to identify common issues with compliance to the regulations, which in turn facilitates the development of updated national guidance documents.

The most common observations cited within a pharmacy inspection report during this past year were inventory reconciliation issues related to record keeping, and security issues linked to the required submission of loss and theft reports to Health Canada. Increased security measures within a pharmacy and the education of pharmacists on requirements for controlled substances that were unaccounted for in an inspection may reduce the incidence of security-related observations. In addition, a new guidance document regarding how to report losses and thefts has recently been developed to promote compliance with the regulations.

Forward Planning

During the fiscal year 2015-16 Community Pharmacy Inspection Program the OCS recognized that there is no systematic way to categorize and describe inspection observations in order to classify an observation as being minor, major or critical in nature. As such, it has been a challenge to clearly depict pharmacists' compliance with the CDSA and its regulations in the current report. Health Canada will implement a new inspections rating system to assess and categorize observations as major, minor or critical. This risk-based approach will be used to carry out targeted inspections based on the results found in regular pharmacy inspections. Therefore, the data presented for fiscal year 2015-16 may differ from the data presented in fiscal year 2016-17 and beyond.

The implementation of the Community Pharmacy Inspection Program in fiscal year 2015-16 has had an immediate, observable, and positive impact on regulatory compliance within the pharmacist community. A significant amount of education and compliance promotion was conducted throughout the first year of the program and several individuals came forward and voluntarily reported instances of non-compliance to Health Canada so that immediate corrective actions could be taken. We anticipate that these positive results will lead to further enhanced rates of compliance in subsequent years, which will in turn contribute to Health Canada's efforts to reduce the harms associated with diverted prescription drugs, particularly problematic opioid use in Canadian communities.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Médicaments et produits de santé

Rapport annuel du Programme d'inspection des pharmacies communautaires, exercice 2015-2016

Ce que nous faisons

Le Bureau des substances contrôlées (BSC) réglemente la distribution et la vente des précurseurs et des substances désignées. Il est notamment responsable de l'administration des lois, des règlements, des politiques et des activités opérationnelles à l'appui de la surveillance des substances désignées (p. ex. l'oxycodone, la morphine, le fentanyl et l'héroïne) et des précurseurs chimiques utilisés dans la fabrication de ces substances et d'autres drogues. Il contribue par le fait même à la surveillance des substances désignées licites et à la réduction du risque de détournement vers des marchés illicites.

La Direction générale des opérations réglementaires et des régions (DGORR) exécute les fonctions opérationnelles nécessaires au contrôle des substances licites, ce qui comprend l'inspection de pharmacies communautaires afin d'assurer le respect de la Loi réglementant certaines drogues et autres substances (LRCDAS) et des règlements pertinents, ainsi que le suivi auprès des pharmaciens ou des responsables après la publication du rapport d'inspection.

Contexte

Le BSC est régi par la Loi réglementant certaines drogues et autres substances et par les règlements afférents, dont le Règlement sur les benzodiazépines et autres substances ciblées, le Règlement sur les stupéfiants, le Règlement sur les précurseurs et le Règlement sur les aliments et drogues (parties G et J). La LRCDAS encadre le contrôle des substances susceptibles d'altérer les processus mentaux et de nuire à la santé et à la société lorsqu'elles sont détournées ou mal utilisées. Cette loi vise à protéger la santé publique et à assurer la sécurité publique en maintenant un juste équilibre entre l'accès légitime à ces substances à des fins médicales, scientifiques ou industrielles et la nécessité de réduire le risque qu'elles soient détournées vers des marchés illicites.

Le BSC mène des activités de conformité et de surveillance, notamment des inspections, pour s'assurer que les parties réglementées (pharmaciens, chercheurs, distributeurs autorisés, etc.) respectent la LRCDAS et ses règlements. Le personnel du Bureau collabore avec d'autres groupes au sein de Santé Canada, de même qu'avec des partenaires externes comme la Gendarmerie royale du Canada, les services de police locaux, l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada et les organismes de réglementation professionnelle provinciaux et territoriaux (p. ex. les ordres de pharmaciens et de médecins et les associations professionnelles), dans le but de limiter le risque que des substances désignées soient détournées vers des marchés illicites et afin que les chercheurs, les professionnels de la santé et les patients contribuent tous à l'entreposage, à l'utilisation et à l'élimination adéquates de ces substances. Le BSC est aussi responsable d'aviser l'ordre professionnel approprié en cas d'activité suspecte et de communiquer l'information aux ordres ou aux organismes d'application de la loi qui en font la demande, pour aider aux enquêtes.

Par ces activités, entre autres, le BSC est résolu à limiter le détournement et l'utilisation à mauvais escient de substances désignées.

Abus de médicaments d'ordonnance

L'abus de médicaments d'ordonnance, en particulier la consommation problématique d'opioïdes, est un problème complexe et de plus en plus fréquent qui a des conséquences pour la santé et la sécurité publiques dans de nombreuses collectivités canadiennes.

En tant que fournisseurs de soins de santé de première ligne, les pharmaciens sont des partenaires importants dans la promotion d'initiatives de santé publique visant à prévenir la consommation problématique d'opioïdes. L'augmentation du nombre d'inspections dans les pharmacies, de même que la collecte et l'analyse de données et la production de rapports sur le sujet, appuieront les résultats du nouveau plan d'action de Santé Canada sur les opioïdes, qui vise :

  • à prévenir la consommation problématique de drogues et d'autres substances;
  • à favoriser des méthodes novatrices en matière de traitement et de réadaptation;
  • à appuyer des mesures permettant de réduire les conséquences néfastes de la consommation de drogues et d'autres substances;
  • à combattre la production, l'offre et la distribution de drogues illicites.

Sommaire

Le BSC aide à protéger les Canadiens en veillant à ce que les substances désignées et les précurseurs soient utilisés à des fins légitimes. Il utilise pour ce faire un processus d'évaluation axée sur le risque et réalise des activités de surveillance et de vérification de la conformité pour réduire le risque de détournement. Du 1er avril 2015 au 31 mars 2016, la DGORR a réalisé 157 inspections de pharmacies au pays. Les observations qui reviennent le plus souvent dans les rapports d'inspection ont trait aux problèmes de rapprochement d'inventaire liés à la tenue des dossiers et aux problèmes de sécurité liés à la déclaration obligatoire des pertes et des vols à Santé Canada. La sensibilisation des pharmaciens au respect des exigences de la LRCDAS et de ses règlements peut aider à réduire la fréquence de ce type d'observations.

Programme d'inspection des pharmacies communautaires

En 2015, Santé Canada a annoncé son intention de réaliser, d'ici 2019, 1 000 inspections visant à promouvoir la conformité des pharmacies communautaires au pays. De ce nombre, 100 devaient être réalisées d'avril 2015 à mars 2016 et 300 par année par la suite (exercices 2016-2017, 2017-2018 et 2018-2019). Santé Canada a recruté 19 inspecteurs à cette fin (neuf permanents et dix temporaires). À compter de l'exercice 2019-2020, les neuf inspecteurs permanents, affectés un peu partout au pays, réaliseront quelque 180 inspections par année.

Le Programme d'inspection des pharmacies communautaires vise à promouvoir la conformité auprès des pharmaciens, à accroître la collaboration et la communication entre Santé Canada, les pharmaciens et les associations et ordres professionnels provinciaux ainsi qu'à faciliter l'échange de renseignements à l'échelle nationale pour lutter contre l'abus de médicaments d'ordonnance, notamment la consommation problématique d'opioïdes.

Bien qu'aléatoire, la sélection des pharmacies à inspecter tient compte de la répartition des quelque 9 710 pharmacies communautaires au Canada (voir le tableau 1 ci-dessous).

Tableau 1. Nombre et proportion des pharmacies au Canada par province et territoire pour 2015-2016
Date Province ayant fait
l'objet d'une inspection
Estimation du nombre
de pharmacies au
Canada en date
d'octobre 2015
Pourcentage
approximatif des
pharmacies au Canada
en date d'octobre 2015
2015-2016 Colombie-Britannique 1235 13 %
Alberta 1121 12 %
Saskatchewan 359 4 %
Manitoba 403 4 %
Ontario 3933 41 %
Québec 1873 19 %
Nouveau-Brunswick 216 2 %
Île-du-Prince-Édouard 47 0,5 %
Nouvelle-Écosse 304 3 %
Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador 195 2 %
Territoires du Nord-Ouest 11 0,1 %
Yukon 8 0,1 %
Nunavut 5 0,1 %
Total 9710  

Au cours d'une inspection, les inspecteurs de Santé Canada examinent les registres d'achats, les dossiers d'ordonnance, les déclarations de perte ou de vol, les protocoles de destruction, la feuille de rapprochement d'inventaire, les mesures de sécurité en place et tout autre renseignement pertinent. Ils examinent s'il y a des divergences entre les registres et les stocks réels et si les mesures de sécurité sont adéquates, et vérifient les pratiques générales de gestion des substances contrôlées. Toute anomalie est consignée dans un rapport qui est examiné avec le pharmacien, de manière à favoriser la conformité et la prise de mesures correctives. S'il y a d'importantes divergences, Santé Canada peut décider de mener des inspections ciblées à la pharmacie en question ou de transmettre les résultats de l'inspection à l'ordre professionnel approprié de la province pour qu'il fasse un suivi.

Inspections et observations

Le rapport annuel de l'exercice 2015-2016 récapitule les résultats du Programme d'inspection des pharmacies communautaires. Au total, 100 inspections étaient prévues pour l'exercice, mais 157 ont été réalisées; des inspections ont été ajoutées afin de former les nouveaux inspecteurs sur le terrain avant le lancement du programme, en novembre 2015. Ces 57 inspections additionnelles ont été menées au cours des deux premiers trimestres et d'une portion du troisième trimestre de l'exercice.

Tableau 2. Nombre total d'inspections, par trimestre et par province, en 2015-2016
Date Province
ayant fait
l'objet d'une
inspection
Nombre d'inspections Inspections par trimestre
Prévues Effectuées T1
(avr.-juin)
T2
(juil.-sept.)
T3
(oct.-déc.)
T4
(janv.-mars)
2015-2016 Colombie-Britannique 13 26 0 8 9 9
Alberta 12 21 1 4 7 9
Saskatchewan 4 4 0 0 2 2
Manitoba 4 4 0 0 2 2
Ontario 40 68 0 22 24 22
Québec 19 25 0 5 5 15
Nouveau-Brunswick 2 2 0 0 0 2
Île-du-Prince-Édouard 1 1 0 0 0 1
Nouvelle-Écosse 3 4 0 0 3 1
Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador 2 2 0 0 2 0
Total 100 157 1 39 54 63

Au cours d'une inspection, l'inspecteur note les observations liées aux exigences réglementaires. Ces observations peuvent être regroupées en trois grandes catégories (énumérées ci-dessous). Certaines observations peuvent nécessiter un suivi sous la forme d'une inspection ciblée visant à vérifier si la pharmacie a pris des mesures de conformité à la suite de l'inspection initiale.

1. Exigences liées à la tenue des dossiers

Aux termes de la LRCDAS et de ses règlements, les pharmaciens sont tenus d'enregistrer les transactions telles que les renouvellements, les transferts d'ordonnance et les commandes reçues. Les inspecteurs s'assurent que les registres des pharmaciens sont exacts. Des problèmes liés à la tenue des dossiers ont été constatés dans environ 64 % des inspections.

Selon les observations notées, le registre des stocks était souvent incomplet ou inexact, ou il avait été corrigé sans explication en cas d'excédent ou de pénurie de substances désignées. Une autre observation revenait fréquemment : les registres d'achats étaient parfois incomplets ou inexacts; il était donc impossible de déterminer les types de substances achetées par la pharmacie et le moment des achats. Des problèmes ont aussi été relevés concernant la tenue d'un dossier distinct pour les stupéfiants. Conformément au Règlement sur les stupéfiants, les ordonnances de stupéfiants doivent être consignées dans un dossier spécial. Ce dossier doit être complet et à jour, et être présenté à l'inspecteur de Santé Canada sur demande. Les inspecteurs ont constaté à maintes reprises que les ordonnances de stupéfiants étaient classées avec les ordonnances régulières, et vice-versa, ou qu'il n'y avait aucun dossier distinct pour les stupéfiants.

Pour quatre des sept pharmacies inspectées devant faire l'objet d'une inspection ciblée, la tenue des dossiers était en cause.

2. Exigences liées à la sécurité

Certaines exigences en matière de sécurité de la LRCDAS font partie des points à vérifier dans le cadre d'une inspection. Ces exigences visent à aider les pharmacies à réduire le risque de perte ou de vol de substances désignées. L'inspecteur vérifie les pratiques, comme l'utilisation des clés par les techniciens ou d'autres employés de la pharmacie ou la communication des codes de système d'alarme à ceux-ci, l'accessibilité de la pharmacie après les heures d'ouverture et la déclaration des pertes et des vols à Santé Canada. Dans le cadre du Programme d'inspection des pharmacies communautaires en 2015-2016, les inspecteurs de Santé Canada ont relevé des problèmes liés à la sécurité dans près de 93 % des cas. La plupart des observations concernaient des problèmes mineurs ou non critiques. Il est toutefois arrivé que des inspecteurs constatent la présence de substances désignées dans des lieux non sécurisés, comme des coffres-forts non verrouillés, des tiroirs ou des armoires ouvertes, ce qui augmente le risque de perte ou de vol.

Pour les sept pharmacies inspectées devant faire l'objet d'une inspection ciblée, la sécurité était en cause.

3. Exigences liées à l'approvisionnement, à la vente et au retour

En vertu du Règlement sur les stupéfiants, les pharmaciens doivent effectuer convenablement l'ensemble des activités liées à la gestion de substances désignées, comme la fourniture et la vente, ainsi que le retour de toute quantité non utilisée au fournisseur. Cela comprend les exigences liées à l'exécution et au renouvellement des ordonnances, au retour au distributeur autorisé, par le pharmacien, de toute substance contrôlée non utilisée et la gestion des ordonnances de méthadone. Des problèmes liés à la gestion des stocks ont été observés dans environ 27 % des inspections. Par exemple, certains pharmaciens dépassaient les ordonnances, c'est-à-dire qu'ils excédaient la quantité prescrite par le médecin, ou fournissaient une substance qui n'était pas identique à celle de l'ordonnance. Ces deux problèmes peuvent mener à des irrégularités lors du rapprochement d'inventaire.

Pour deux des sept pharmacies inspectées devant faire l'objet d'une inspection ciblée, l'approvisionnement, la vente et le retour étaient en cause.

Conclusion

En plus de mener des inspections visant à favoriser le respect de la réglementation, le Programme d'inspection des pharmacies communautaires permet à Santé Canada de relever les problèmes de conformité courants, ce qui facilite la mise à jour des documents d'orientation nationaux.

Les observations les plus souvent formulées dans les rapports d'inspection de pharmacie l'an dernier avaient trait aux problèmes de rapprochement d'inventaire liés à la tenue des dossiers et aux problèmes de sécurité liés à la déclaration obligatoire des pertes et des vols à Santé Canada. Le resserrement des mesures de sécurité dans les pharmacies et la sensibilisation des pharmaciens aux exigences applicables aux substances désignées qui ne sont pas prises en compte dans le cadre de l'inspection pourraient réduire le nombre d'observations liées à la sécurité. De plus, un nouveau document d'orientation sur la façon de signaler les pertes et les vols a récemment été préparé afin de promouvoir la conformité à la réglementation.

Planification à long terme

Le BSC a constaté, dans le cadre du Programme d'inspection des pharmacies communautaires durant l'exercice 2015-2016, qu'il n'existe aucun moyen systématique de classer et de décrire les observations formulées qui permettrait de déterminer la nature du problème observé (mineur, majeur ou critique). Il a donc été difficile d'illustrer clairement la conformité des pharmaciens à la LRCDAS et à ses règlements dans le présent rapport. Santé Canada compte mettre en place un nouveau système d'attribution des cotes d'inspection qui permettra d'évaluer les observations et de les classer (majeure, mineure ou critique). Cette démarche fondée sur le risque sera utilisée pour réaliser les inspections ciblées, en fonction des résultats des inspections courantes. Les données de 2015-2016 pourraient donc différer de celles des exercices suivants.

L'exécution du Programme d'inspection des pharmacies communautaires durant l'exercice 2015-2016 a eu un effet positif immédiat sur la conformité des pharmaciens à la réglementation. De nombreuses activités de sensibilisation et de promotion de la conformité ont été menées au cours de la première année du programme et plusieurs personnes ont signalé d'elles-mêmes des cas de non-conformité à Santé Canada, ce qui a permis d'agir rapidement pour corriger la situation. Nous croyons que ces résultats positifs donneront lieu à une augmentation des taux de conformité au cours des prochaines années et aideront par le fait même Santé Canada à réduire les méfaits associés aux médicaments d'ordonnance détournés, en particulier la consommation problématique d'opioïdes, dans les collectivités canadiennes.