Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Drugs and Health Products

Post-Authorization Requirements

Once an application has received regulatory authorization, the sponsor is required to inform Health Canada of the following:

Clinical Trial Site Information

  • If clinical trial site information was not available at the time of application, a completed Clinical Trial Site Information (CTSI) form must be provided to the appropriate Directorate before the trial is initiated or prior to implementation of an amendment at that site.

Changes to a Previously Authorized Clinical Trial Application

  • After a CTA has been authorized, any changes to the protocol and/or clinical trial drug supplies must be submitted to Health Canada either as an Amendment or a Notification .

Premature Discontinuation of a Clinical Trial

  • In the event of the premature discontinuation of a trial in its entirety or at a clinical trial site for which a CTA or CTA-A has been filed in Canada, the responsible Directorate must be notified as soon as possible, but no later than 15 calendar days after the date of discontinuance Next link will take you to another Web site [REGULATIONS, C.05.015] ).

Adverse Drug Reaction (ADR) Reporting

  • For drugs used in clinical trials in Canada, only those ADRs that are both serious and unexpected are subject to expedited reporting to Health Canada, regardless whether the ADR occurred inside or outside of Canada. Expedited reporting of reactions which are serious but expected is not required. Expedited reporting is also inappropriate for serious events from clinical investigations that are considered unrelated to the study product, whether or not the event is expected.

Research Ethics Board Refusals

  • Following regulatory autorization of a CTA or a CTA-A, information regarding refusals by other regulatory authorities or Research Ethics Board(s), should be submitted as a notification. This information will be added to the file, but will not be subject to an acknowledgement letter.

Lot Release Information (for Biologics and Radiopharmaceuticals)

  • With the exception of vaccines, in lieu of routine lot testing, the Biologics and Genetic Therapies Directorate (BGTD) will require that the CTA sponsor/manufacturer provide the Directorate, before its use in the trial, with the following information on the final product and bulk product of their material:
    1. Lot numbers of materials being used during the trial and any Batch Identification Numbers that are assigned to lots received from elsewhere (i.e. all numbers associated with a particular lot), and
    2. The lot number(s) and manufacturing source of any associated human-derived excipient (e.g. human albumin).

Updated Investigator's Brochure

  • An updated Investigator's Brochure, including all safety information and global status should be submitted annually.

    NOTE: Health Canada may suspend or cancel a trial in instances such as, but not limited to:

    • A sponsor has contravened the Act or Regulations relating to the drug
    • Any information submitted in respect of the drug or clinical trial is false or misleading
    • A sponsor failed to comply with good clinical practices
    • A sponsor has failed to provide Health Canada with certain requested information

    Please refer to Next link will take you to another Web site [REGULATIONS, C.05.016] and Next link will take you to another Web site [REGULATIONS, C.05.017] for further information.

Clinical Trial Site Information

If a completed Clinical Trial Site Information (CTSI) Form (including dates for sections 35 and 47 of the form) for each proposed clinical trial site was not provided at the time of application (CTA or CTAs -A), the CTSI form must be submitted to the appropriate Directorate prior to commencement of the trial or implementation of the amendment at that site. In the event that an amendment must be implemented prior to the approval due to safety reasons, the commencement date of the amendment should reflect the date the amendment was implemented at the site. To avoid any confusion during the data entry, a supplemental document should also be attached to the CTSI form justifying the situation. Please refer to the section C.05.008 (4) of the Food and Drug Regulations for additional information.” The word ‘safety’ can also be inserted in brackets next to the date [eg: January 15th, 2008 (safety)].

All fields must be fully completed, including the:

  • dates for sections 35 and 47;
  • Control Number assigned by Health Canada in section 3;
  • CR File Number assigned by Health Canada in section 4.

Clinical Trial Site Information Form and supporting instruction document for completing the CTSI Form

If any changes are made to the Clinical Trial Site Information form (e.g., change of qualified investigator) a revised form should be submitted. Receipt of the Clinical Trial Site Information form will not be subject to an acknowledgment letter.

Changes to a Previously Authorized CTA

Amendments

Amendments are applications in which a sponsor proposes changes to a previously authorized application Next link will take you to another Web site [REGULATIONS, C.05.008] . Amendments may involve changes to clinical trial drug supplies (e.g., the manufacturing process for the drug has changed), changes to an authorized protocol (e.g., a revised dosing regimen), or both.

Amendments must be authorized by Health Canada prior to implementation of the changes and are subject to the 30-day review period.

If the sponsor is required to immediately make one or more of the amendments because the clinical trial or the drug for the purpose of the clinical trial endangers the health of a clinical trial subject or other person, the sponsor may immediately make the amendment without prior review by Health Canada. A corresponding amendment to the CTA which provides the required information and which clearly identifies the change and the rationale for immediate implementation of the change must be filed within 15 days after the date of implementation of the amendment. This is subject to a 30-day default review period.

For further information, consult the Clinical Trial Application - Amendments page.

Notifications

Notifications, as described below, must be provided for changes to CTAs and CTAs -As. The changes may be implemented immediately, but Health Canada must be informed in writing, within 15 calendar days after the day of the change Next link will take you to another Web site [REGULATIONS, C.05.007] . Notifications include the following changes to CTAs and CTAs -As.

  • Changes to the protocol that do not affect the safety of the trial participants and which would not be considered an Amendment
  • Information on site closure or completion of the clinical trial
  • When the clinical trial has been discontinued in its entirety or at any clinical trial site for reasons not related to the safety of clinical trial participants (e.g., for administrative purposes, lack of recruitment, etc).
  • Updated Investigator's Brochure
  • Changes to Quality (Chemistry and Manufacturing) information that do not affect the quality or safety of the drug, for example:
    • for Pharmaceuticals: production scale-ups with no changes in the process
    • tightening of existing test specifications
    • changes in contract testing laboratories
    • changes in packaging material
    • for Pharmaceuticals: extension of shelf life
    • for Pharmaceuticals: which would not be considered and Amendment.

Updated information regarding the change should be submitted in the form of a cover letter and any supporting documentation. The cover letter should indicate the file number, control number(s), and protocol number(s) of the original CTAs (s).

The Notification will be reviewed and added to the file.

Premature Discontinuation of a Clinical Trial

In the event of the premature discontinuation of a trial in its entirety or at a clinical trial site for which a CTA or a CTAs -A has been filed in Canada, the responsible Directorate must be notified within 15 calendar days of the date of discontinuance. This notification should include:

  • detailed rationale for this action
  • description of the impact on the proposed or ongoing trials, in respect of the drug, conducted in Canada
  • confirmation that all qualified investigators involved in the clinical trial, have been notified of the discontinuation and the reasons for the discontinuance and have been advised in writing of any potential risks to the health of clinical trial subjects or other persons
  • confirmation that the sale or importation of the drug to all sites involved has been stopped
  • confirmation that reasonable measures to ensure the return of all unused quantities of the drug will be taken

Note: Notification of a premature discontinuation of a clinical trial outside Canada, for which there are ongoing trials in Canada, should also be submitted to the appropriate Directorate.

In order to resume a suspended trial, the sponsor must submit a CTAs -A. Sponsors may only resume a trial when a No Objection Letter (NOL) has been issued from the appropriate Directorate within 30 days of the submission of information. The CTAs -A must include:

  • the information submitted as a notification at the time of trial suspension
  • the name, address and telephone number, and if applicable, the fax number and electronic mail address of the qualified investigator for each site and of the REB that approved the re-initiation of the trial at each site
  • the name, address and telephone number and, if applicable, the fax number and electronic mail address of any REB that has previously refused to approve the re-initiation of the trial, if applicable
  • the proposed date of re-initiation of the clinical trial at each clinical trial site

Adverse Drug Reactions (ADR) Reporting

Some of the hyperlinks provided are to sites of organizations or other entities that are not subject to the Next link will take you to another Web site Official Languages Act. The material found there is therefore in the language(s) used by the sites in question.

For drugs used in clinical trials in Canada, only adverse drug reactions (ADRs) that are both serious and unexpected are subject to expedited reporting to Health Canada. Expedited reporting of reactions which are serious but expected is not required. Expedited reporting is not required for serious events from clinical investigations that are considered unrelated to the study product, whether or not the event is expected.

During a clinical trial the sponsor is required to inform Health Canada of any serious, unexpected adverse drug reaction that has occurred inside or outside Canada. ADR report must be filed in the cases:

  • where the ADR is neither fatal nor life-threatening, within 15 days after becoming aware of the information
  • where it is fatal or life-threatening, immediately where possible and, in any event, within 7 days after becoming aware of the information
  • within 8 days after having informed Health Canada of the ADR, submit as complete as possible, a report which includes an assessment of the importance and implication of any findings

Each ADR which is subject to expedited reporting should be reported individually in accordance with the Health Canada / ICH Guidance Document E2A: Clinical Safety Data Management: Definitions and Standards for Expedited Reporting.

Ongoing safety information respecting a drug should be conveyed to Investigator(s) and their Research Ethics Board(s). For further information refer to the Health Canada / ICH Guidance Documents E6: Guideline for Good Clinical Practice and E2A: Clinical Safety Data Management: Definitions and Standards for Expedited Reporting.

How to file an ADR report to Health Canada:

A completed ADR Expedited Reporting Summary Form should be attached to the front of the completed ADR report (suggested ADR report format: Next link will take you to another Web site Suspect Adverse Reaction Report - CIOMS form of Next link will take you to another Web site the Council for International Organizations of Medical Sciences (CIOMS)).

The report should be submitted by fax to the appropriate Directorate.

Lot Release Information (for Biologics and Radiopharmaceuticals)

With the exception of vaccines, in lieu of routine lot testing, the Biologics and Genetic Therapies Directorate will require that the CTA sponsor/manufacturer provide the Directorate, before its use in the trial, with the following information on the final product and bulk product of their material:

  1. Lot numbers of materials being used during the trial and any Batch Identification Numbers that are assigned to lots received from elsewhere (i.e. all numbers associated with a particular lot), and
  2. The lot number(s) and manufacturing source of any associated human-derived excipient (e.g. human albumin).

The sponsor/manufacturer is required to sign a certification stating that all testing, on the drug substance as well as any human-derived excipients, is complete and within specification. A completed "Fax-Back" form, including the required certification, should be sent to the BGTD. This will be faxed back to the sponsor/manufacturer within 48 hours, providing the CTA has received prior BGTD authorization. If the CTA has not been cleared by the BGTD, the Fax-Back will be held until such time as authorization for the CTA has been given. Upon receipt of the faxed-back form, the sponsor/manufacturer may implement the use of the particular lot(s).

If the sponsor/manufacturer wishes to use a lot that has failed one or more specifications, they must provide the testing protocol, an explanation, and the rationale for its use along with the completed Fax-Back form. The lot must not be used until such time as it has been released by the BGTD.

In cases where a previously authorized biological is being used in a clinical trial, for a new indication, a Fax-Back will still be required.

In the case of vaccines, the BGTD will continue to require samples and testing protocols respecting Clinical Trial Application ( CTA ) submissions.

Updated Investigator's Brochure

Updated Investigator's Brochures,  including all safety information and global status should be submitted annually. Additional information and any changes that have been incorporated in the updated Investigator's Brochure should be highlighted for ease of review and evaluation. If an Investigator's Brochure is updated more frequently, it should be submitted as required.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Médicaments et produits de santé

Exigences suite à l'autorisation

Suite à l'autorisation réglementaire d'une application, le promoteur doit informer Santé Canada des situations suivantes :

Information sur le lieu d'essai clinique

  • Si les renseignements pour chaque site d'essai clinique n'étaient pas connus au moment du dépôt d'une demande (DEC ou MDEC), un Formulaire d'information sur le lieu d'essai clinique, dûment rempli, doit être fourni à la direction appropriée avant le début de l'essai clinique ou la mise en oeuvre d'une modification à ce site.

Modifications à une demande préalablement autorisée

  • Une fois une DEC autorisée, toutes modifications apportées au protocole et/ou aux fournitures médicamenteuses d'essais cliniques doivent être soumises à Santé Canada sous forme de Modification ou de Notification.

Abandon prématuré d'un essai clinique

  • En cas d'abandon, en totalité ou dans l'un des lieux choisis, d'un essai clinique pour lequel une DEC ou MDEC a été déposée au Canada, il faut informer la direction concernée le plus tôt possible dans les 15 jours civils suivant la date de l'abandon Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web [RÈGLEMENT, C.05.015].

Rapport sur les réactions indésirables à la drogue

  • Pour les médicaments utilisés dans le cadre d' essais cliniques au Canada, seules les réactions indésirables graves et imprévues doivent être rapportées rapidement à Santé Canada, que ces réactions se soient produites au Canada ou à l'extérieur du pays. La déclaration rapide de réactions graves mais prévisibles n'est pas exigée. Les réactions indésirables mais prévisibles ne justifient pas une déclaration rapide, pas plus que les incidents thérapeutiques graves observés au cours d'essais cliniques mais qui ne sont pas considérés comme liés au produit à l'étude, que l'incident soit prévu ou non.

Refus de comités d'éthique de la recherche

  • À suite de l'autorisation réglementaire d'une DEC ou d'une MDEC, il faut soumettre sous forme de notification toute information concernant les refus d'autres organismes réglementaires ou comités d'éthique de la recherche. Cette information est ajoutée au dossier, mais aucun accusé de réception n'est envoyé.

Information sur la mise en circulation de lots (produits biologiques et radiopharmaceutiques)

  • À l'exception des vaccins, au lieu de vérifier tous les lots, la Direction des produits biologiques et des thérapies génétiques (DPBTG) exige que le promoteur/fabricant lui fournisse, avant de les utiliser dans le cadre d'un essai clinique, les renseignements suivants sur le produit final et le produit en vrac :
    1. les numéros des lots de produits utilisés dans le cadre de l'essai clinique et numéros d'identification attribués aux lots de produits reçus d'ailleurs (c'est-à-dire tous les numéros associés à un lot donné)
    2. le numéro de lot et nom du fabricant de tout excipient connexe de source humaine (p. ex., albumine humaine).

Mise à jour de la brochure du chercheur

  • Une brochure du chercheur, à jour, comprenant les données complètes sur l'innocuité et une vue d'ensemble de la situation doit être soumise annuellement.

    Remarque : Santé Canada peut suspendre ou annuler l'essai clinique si elle a des raisons de croire que:

    • le promoteur a contrevenu au présent Règlement ou à toute disposition de la Loi relative à la drogue;
    • les renseignements fournis à l'égard de la drogue ou de l'essai clinique sont faux ou trompeurs;
    • le promoteur ne s'est pas conformé aux bonnes pratiques cliniques;
    • le promoteur a omis de fournir à Santé Canada certains renseignements demandés.

    Pour de plus amples précisions, reportez-vous aux sections [Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site WebC.05.016] et [C.05.017] du Règlement sur les aliments et drogues.

Information sur le lieu d'essai clinique

Si un Formulaire d'information sur le lieu d'essai clinique dûment rempli pour chaque lieu n'a pas été soumis au moment du dépôt de la demande (DEC ou MDEC), le formulaire doit être soumis à la direction appropriée avant le début de l'essai ou la mise en oeuvre de la modification. Si, pour des motifs de sécurité, une modification doit être mise en oeuvre avant l'approbation, la date de début de la modification doit correspondre à la date de sa mise en oeuvre au lieu d'essai clinique. Afin d'éviter toute confusion lors de l'entrée de données, un document supplémentaire présentant une justification doit être joint au formulaire. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le paragraphe C.05.008(4) du Règlement sur les aliments et drogues. La mention sécurité peut également être ajoutée entre parenthèses après la date [p. ex. 15 janvier 2008 (sécurité)].

Veuillez :

  • indiquer les dates aux cases 35 et 47;
  • indiquer le numéro de contrôle assigné par Santé Canada à la case 3;
  • indiquer le numéro de dossier assigné par Santé Canada à la case 4.

Formulaire d'information sur le lieu d'essai clinique (ILEC) et du document d'appui.

Si quelconque changement est apporté au Formulaire d'information sur le lieu d'essai clinique (p. ex., remplacement d'un Chercheur qualifié), il faut soumettre un formulaire révisé. Aucun accusé de réception n'est envoyé pour le Formulaire d'information sur le lieu d'essai clinique.

Modifications à une demande préalablement autorisée

Modifications

Il s'agit de modifications proposées par le promoteur aux applications préalablement autorisées Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web [RÈGLEMENT, C.05.008]. Les modifications peuvent porter sur des changements aux fournitures médicamenteuses d'essais cliniques (p. ex. le procédé de fabrication du médicament a changé), des changements à un protocole autorisé (p. ex. un régime posologique révisé), ou les deux.

Les modifications doivent être autorisées par Santé Canada avant leur mise en oeuvre et sont assujeties à une période d'attente de 30 jours.

Si le promoteur est tenu d'apporter immédiatement une ou plusieurs modification, en raison du fait que l'essai clinique ou l'usage du médicament dans le cadre de l'essai clinique met en danger la santé d'un sujet participant ou de toute autre personne, il peut le faire sans attendre l'examen de Santé Canada. Une modification à la DEC contenant les renseignements demandés et dans laquelle les modifications et la raison de la mise en oeuvre immédiate sont clairement indiquées doit être déposée dans les 15 jours suivant la date de mise en oeuvre de la modification. L'examen de la modification est assujetti à une période d'attente de 30 jours.

Pour de plus amples renseignements veuillez consulter la section des Modifications de demandes d'essais cliniques.

Notifications

Les notifications décrites ci-dessous doivent être données pour les changements aux DEC et aux MDEC. Les changements peuvent être mis en oeuvre immédiatement, mais Santé Canada doit en être informé par écrit dans les 15 jours civils suivant la date des changements Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web [RÈGLEMENT, C.05.007]. Les changements suivants aux DEC et MDEC justifient une notification:

  • Les changements au protocole qui ne compromettent pas la sûreté des participants à l'essai et qui ne seraient pas considérés comme une modification;
  • L'information sur la fermeture d'un site ou l'achèvement d'un essai clinique;
  • Lorsqu'on met fin prématurément à un essai clinique en totalité ou dans l'un des lieux d'essai, pour des raisons non liées à la sûreté des participants à l'essai (p. ex. des raisons administratives, des problèmes de recrutement, etc.);
  • Mise à jour de la brochure du chercheur;
  • Les changements dans les données sur la qualité (chimie et fabrication) qui n'influent pas sur la qualité ou l'innocuité du médicament, par exemple:
    • pour les produits pharmaceutiques : augmentation de la production sans changement dans le procédé
    • resserrement des spécifications actuelles des tests
    • changements concernant les laboratoires d'essai sous contrat
    • changements dans le matériel d'emballage
    • pour les produits pharmaceutiques : prolongation du délai de péremption
    • pour les produits pharmaceutiques : changements qui ne seraient pas considérés comme une modification.

Des renseignements à jour concernant les changements doivent être soumis sous forme de lettre d'envoi, accompagnée de tout document à l'appui. La lettre d'envoi doit indiquer le numéro de dossier, le(s) numéro(s) de contrôle et le(s) numéro(s) de protocole(s) de la ou les DEC originales.

Les renseignements sont évalués et ajoutés au dossier.

Abandon prématuré d'un essai clinique

En cas d'abandon prématuré en totalité ou dans un des lieux choisis, d'un essai clinique pour lequel une DEC ou MDEC a été déposée au Canada, il faut informer la direction concernée le plus tôt possible dans les 15 jours civils suivant la date de l'abandon. La notification doit comprendre les renseignements suivants :

  • exposé détaillé des motifs de l'abandon;
  • description des répercussions de l'abandon sur les essais prévus ou en cours du médicament au Canada;
  • attestation confirmant que tous les chercheurs qualifiés ont été dûment avisés de l'abandon de l'essai et des motifs de cette mesure, et qu'ils ont été informés par écrit des risques possibles pour la santé des sujets participants ou d'autres personnes;
  • confirmation que la vente ou l'importation du médicament à tous les lieux d'essai en cause ont été interrompues;
  • confirmation que des mesures raisonnables seront prises en vue d'assurer le renvoi de toute quantité inutilisée du médicament.

Remarque : Il faut également aviser la direction appropriée de l'abandon prématuré d'un essai clinique à l'extérieur du Canada, lorsque des équivalents sont en cours au Canada.

Afin de reprendre un essai clinique suspendu, le promoteur doit soumettre une MDEC. Le promoteur ne peut reprendre l'essai qu'après l'envoi d'une lettre de non-objection (LNO) par la direction appropriée, dans les 30 jours suivant la communication des renseignements. La MDEC doit comprendre :

  • les renseignements soumis à titre de notification au moment de la suspension de l'essai;
  • le nom, l'adresse et le numéro de téléphone et, s'il y a lieu, le numéro de télécopieur et l'adresse courriel du chercheur qualifié à chacun des lieux d'essai et du CER qui a approuvé la reprise de l'essai à chaque lieu;
  • le nom, l'adresse et le numéro de téléphone et, s'il y a lieu, le numéro de télécopieur et l'adresse courriel de tout CER qui a déjà refusé d'approuver la reprise de l'essai, le cas échéant;
  • la date prévue de la reprise de l'essai clinique à chacun des lieux d'essai.

Rapport sur les réactions indésirables aux médicaments

Certains hyperliens donnent accès à des sites d'organismes qui ne sont pas assujettis à la Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Loi sur les langues officielles. L'information qui s'y trouve est donc dans la langue du site.

Dans les cas de médicaments utilisés dans le cadre d'essais cliniques au Canada, seules les réactions indésirables graves et imprévues doivent être rapportées rapidement à Santé Canada. La déclaration rapide de réactions graves mais prévisibles n'est pas exigée. Les réactions indésirables graves mais prévisibles ne justifient pas une déclaration rapide, pas plus que les incidents thérapeutiques graves observés au cours d'essais cliniques mais qui ne sont pas considérés comme liés au produit à l'étude, que l'incident soit prévu ou non.

Durant un essai clinique, le promoteur doit informer Santé Canada de toutes réactions graves et imprévues observées au Canada ou à l'étranger. Un rapport doit être produit dans les cas suivants :

  • si l'effet n'entraîne pas la mort et ne met pas la vie en danger, dans les 15 jours suivant le moment où il a pris connaissance de la situation;
  • si l'effet entraîne la mort ou peut mettre la vie en danger, le plus tôt possible dans les 7 jours suivant le moment où il a pris connaissance de la situation;
  • dans les 8 jours suivant la notification de l'effet indésirable à Santé Canada, il doit soumettre un rapport aussi détaillé que possible, comprenant une estimation de l'importance et des répercussions des constatations.

Chaque cas d'effet indésirable assujetti au régime de déclaration rapide doit faire l'objet d'une déclaration distincte englobant les éléments de données prévus dans la ligne directrice Santé Canada / ICH E2A: Gestion des données cliniques sur l'innocuité des médicaments: définitions et normes relatives à la déclaration rapide.

Les renseignements concernant l'innocuité d'un médicament doivent être transmis au fur et à mesure au(x) chercheur(s) et au(x) comité(s) d'éthique de la recherche. Pour plus de détails, consultez les documents d'orientation de Santé Canada / ICH E6 : Bonnes pratiques cliniques et E2A : Définitions et normes relatives à la déclaration rapide.

Directives sur la façon de déclarer un effet indésirable de médicament (EIM) :

Un Formulaire abrégé de déclaration rapide des EIM rempli doit être joint au rapport sur les réactions indésirables aux médicaments (format suggéré : Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web formulaire CIOMS du Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Council for International Organizations of Medical Sciences)en page couverture.

Ce rapport doit être expédié par télécopieur à la direction appropriée.

Information sur la mise en circulation de lots ( produits biologiques et radiopharmaceutiques)

À l'exception des vaccins, au lieu de vérifier tous les lots, la Direction des produits biologiques et des thérapies génétiques (DPBTG ) exige que le promoteur/fabricant lui fournisse, avant de les utiliser dans le cadre d'un essai clinique, les renseignements suivants sur le produit final et le produit en vrac :

  1. les numéros des lots de produits utilisés dans le cadre de l'essai clinique et numéros d'identification attribués aux lots de produits reçus d'ailleurs (c'est-à-dire tous les numéros associés à un lot donné)
  2. le numéro de lot et nom du fabricant de tout excipient connexe de source humaine (p. ex., albumine humaine).

Le promoteur/fabricant est tenu de signer un document certifiant que tous les essais effectués sur la substance médicamenteuse et sur les excipients de source humaine, s'il y en a, sont complets et conformes aux exigences. Il faut envoyer par télécopieur à la DPBTG un formulaire où figure la certification requise. Le formulaire est renvoyé au promoteur/fabricant par télécopieur dans les 48 heures, pourvu que la DEC ait déjà été autorisée par la DPBTG. Dans le cas contraire, le formulaire ne sera renvoyé que quand la DEC aura été autorisée. Une fois que le formulaire lui a été retourné, le promoteur/fabricant peut utiliser le ou les lots en question.

Si le promoteur/fabricant veut utiliser un lot qui ne remplit pas toutes les exigences, il doit fournir le protocole d'essai, des explications et la justification de son utilisation, et consigner ces renseignements sur le formulaire à télécopier. Le lot ne doit pas être utilisé tant que la DPBTG ne l'a pas autorisé.

Si un produit biologique déjà autorisé est utilisé dans le cadre d'un essai clinique, mais pour une nouvelle indication, il faut dans ce cas aussi remplir le formulaire à retourner par télécopieur.

Dans le cas des vaccins, il faut encore transmettre à la DPBTG des échantillons et les protocoles d'essai respectant les soumissions de demandes d'essais cliniques (DEC).

Mise à jour de la brochure du chercheur

Une brochure du chercheur à jour, comprenant des données complètes sur l'innocuité et une vue d'ensemble de la situation, doit être soumise annuellement. Les renseignements supplémentaires et tout changement intégrés dans une brochure du chercheur doivent être mis en évidence. Si une brochure du chercheur est mise à jour plus souvent, elle doit être soumise au besoin.