Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada
Drugs and Health Products

Assisted Human Reproduction

It is estimated that up to one in eight Canadian couples experiences infertility.  Increasingly, Canadians experiencing infertility as well as single parents and same-sex couples are turning to assisted human reproduction (AHR) procedures to help build their families.

This section provides information about AHR and the federal government's work in this area.

Health Canada is the Canadian federal authority responsible for developing policy and regulations under the Assisted Human Reproduction Act and for administering and enforcing the Act and its regulations.  Prior to October 1, 2012, Assisted Human Reproduction Canada (AHRC) was responsible for administering and enforcing the Act and its regulations.  However, in Budget 2012, the Government of Canada announced that it would wind down AHRC, in response to the 2010 ruling of the Supreme Court of Canada that significantly reduced the federal role in assisted human reproduction.

If you have a question about the Assisted Human Reproduction Act or wish to make a complaint or allegation of non-compliance with the Act, you can contact Health Canada in one of the following ways:

By Mail:
Health Canada
Address Locator 0900C2
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0K9

Email: Info@hc-sc.gc.ca
Telephone: 613-957-2991
Toll free: 1-866-225-0709
Facsimile: 613-941-5366
Teletypewriter: 1-800-465-7735 (Service Canada)

Legislation and Regulations

  • Next link will take you to another Web site An Act respecting assisted human reproduction and related research - on March 29, 2004, the Assisted Human Reproduction Act received Royal Assent.  It was amended by the Budget Implementation Act which received Royal Assent on June 29, 2012.
  • Sections 5-9 of the Act list prohibited activities related to AHR that Parliament has deemed to be ethically unacceptable, incompatible with Canadian values or that may pose significant human health and safety risks to Canadians.  The prohibitions under Sections 5, 6, 7, and 9 came into force on April 22, 2004.
  • Next link will take you to another Web site Section 8 of the Act, which pertains to prohibitions on the use of sperm or eggs or in vitro embryos without "consent to use", came into force along with its supporting regulations on December 1, 2007.

Fact Sheets on Prohibitions

Glossary

  • Glossary - The following are explanations of terms used on this website. These explanations are meant to be guidelines only and are not formal definitions.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Médicaments et produits de santé

Procréation assistée

On estime qu'un couple canadien sur huit éprouve des problèmes de fertilité. De plus en plus, ces Canadiens ainsi que les familles monoparentales et les couples de même sexe se tournent vers les techniques de procréation assistée pour fonder une famille.

La présente section fournit de l'information sur la procréation assistée et les travaux du gouvernement fédéral dans ce domaine.

Santé Canada est l'autorité fédérale canadienne responsable de l'élaboration des politiques et de la réglementation relevant de la Loi sur la procréation assistée et de l'administration et de l'application de la Loi et de la réglementation connexe. Avant le 1er octobre 2012, Procréation assistée Canada (PAC) était responsable de l'administration et de l'application de la Loi et de la réglementation connexe. Toutefois, dans le budget de 2012, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé la cessation des activités de PAC, en réponse au jugement de 2010 de la Cour suprême du Canada qui réduisait considérablement le rôle du gouvernement fédéral dans le domaine.

Si vous avez des questions au sujet de la Loi sur la procréation assistée ou si vous désirez déposer une plainte ou étayer une allégation de non-conformité à la Loi,veuillez communiquer avec Santé Canada :

Par la poste :
Santé Canada
Indice de l'adresse : 0900C2
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0K9

Courriel : Info@hc-sc.gc.ca
Téléphone : 613-957-2991
Sans frais : 1-866-225-0709
Télécopieur : 613-941-5366
Téléimprimeur : 1-800-465-7735 (Service Canada)

Lois et règlements

  • Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web Loi sur la procréation assistée et la recherche connexe - La Loi sur la procréation assistée a reçu la sanction royale le 29 mars 2004. Elle a été modifiée par la Loi d'exécution du budget, qui a reçu la sanction royale le 29 juin 2012.
  • Les articles 5 à 9 de la Loi dressent la liste des activités interdites dans le cadre de la procréation assistée. Le Parlement a jugé ces actes inacceptables sur le plan éthique, incompatibles avec les valeurs des Canadiens ou trop risqués pour la santé et la sécurité des Canadiens. Les interdictions prévues aux articles 5, 6, 7 et 9 sont en vigueur depuis le 22 avril 2004.
  • Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web L'article 8 de la Loi interdit l'utilisation de sperme ou d'ovules, ou encore d'embryons in vitro, sans le consentement du donneur. Cet article et son règlement d'application sont en vigueur depuis le 1er décembre 2007.

Feuillets d'information sur les interdictions

Glossaire

  • Glossaire - Vous trouverez ci-dessous une définition des termes utilisés sur ce site Web. Il ne s'agit toutefois que des lignes directrices, et non des définitions officielles.