Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Consumer Product Safety

Pesticide Education, Training and Certification

Education of those individuals who sell (vendors) and apply (applicators) pesticides is a key element in promoting the responsible use of pesticides to protect human health and the environment.  The provinces/territories are responsible for the training and certification of pesticide vendors and applicators. Pesticide training and certification programs across Canada are based on the Standard for Pesticide Education, Training and Certification in Canada.

On this page:

Standard for Pesticide Education, Training and Certification in Canada

The Standard for Pesticide Education, Training and Certification in Canada (referred to as the National Standard) outlines the structure and criteria for provincial/territorial certification programs and is made up of three main parts: the Framework, the Applicator Basic Knowledge Requirements and the Vendor/Dispenser Basic Knowledge Requirements. Both the Applicator and Vendor/Dispenser Basic Knowledge Requirements are further broken into category specific modules.

The National Standard is not a training manual itself. It is intended primarily for provincial pesticide regulators and trainers for use in developing their own courses, training manuals and examinations.

Framework (Part 1) (Revised, 2005 Edition)

The Framework is an overview document which describes the development, purpose, scope, and parts of the National Standard. It also includes information on common terminology associated with certification, pesticide certification categories, basic knowledge requirements for applicators and vendors, criteria for their certification and re-certification, and provincial/territorial reciprocity requirements.

Applicator Basic Knowledge Requirements (Part 2)

This part outlines the knowledge required to use pesticides. It is made up of an Applicator Core (Revised, 2003 Edition) and 10 category specific modules. The Applicator Core contains information relevant for all pesticide applicators. The category specific modules contain information related to specialized areas of application. There are ten categories common across Canada:

  • Aerial Module - Revised, 2005 Edition
  • Agriculture Module
  • Aquatic Vegetation Module
  • Forestry Module
  • Fumigation Module
  • Greenhouse Module
  • Industrial Vegetation Module
  • Landscape Module - Revised, 2004 Edition
  • Mosquito and Biting Flies Module - Revised, 2007 Edition
  • Structural Module - Revised, 2005 Edition

Vendor/Dispenser Basic Knowledge Requirements (Part 3)

This part outlines the knowledge required to sell pesticides. The Vendor/Dispenser Core contains information relevant for all vendors. The Vendor/Dispenser Module contains additional information for vendors who sell federally classified commercial and restricted pesticides.

Pesticide Education, Training and Certification Working Group

The Pesticide Education, Training and Certification Working Group (WGPETC) is responsible for the National Standard and related pesticide education initiatives. The WGPETC is comprised of federal/provincial/territorial representatives involved in pesticide regulation and education and reports to the Federal/Provincial/Territorial Committee on Pest Management and Pesticides. The WGPETC works with professional applicator associations, medical organizations and other stakeholders in developing and maintaining the National Standard.

For additional information on the National Standard or the Working Group on Pesticide Education, Training and Certification, contact the Pesticide Education, Training and Certification Working Group.

Provincial and Territorial Pesticide Certification Programs

Each province has its own certification program for pesticide applicators and vendors. These programs are regulated by the provincial pesticide regulatory agencies but may be delivered via educational institutions. The territories do not have their own certification programs, but recognize certification from other provinces. Please contact the appropriate provincial or territorial pesticide regulatory agency for further information.

National Pesticide Certification Manuals

National certification manuals, based on the National Standard, are being developed. These manuals will provide for improved consistency and harmonization of pesticide certification programs across Canada.

National Aerial Pesticide Application Manual

This manual contains national information applicable for aerial pesticide application in Canada. It also contains a section entitled "Province Specific Information", which includes aerial information that is specific to each province. Provinces will add their own province specific information section into the manual when printing. It is the responsibility of the aerial applicator to ensure they obtain the province specific information section of the National Aerial Manual and appropriate certification from each province in which they anticipate working.

The National Aerial Pesticide Application Manual must be used in conjunction with a provincial Applicator Core Manual. These two manuals together are to be used as training and reference manuals for individuals wishing to become certified for aerial pesticide application.

A partial version of the National Aerial Pesticide Application Manual is posted on this Web site. Printed copies of the complete manual are available through the provincial pesticide regulatory agencies.

Pesticide Education Initiatives

NAFTA Applicator Core Exam Project

Canada and the United States are involved in a joint project to develop a common applicator core exam for North American pesticide applicators. The development of this exam will follow a standardized and validated process to ensure the resultant exam is both professionally sound and legally defensible. Alberta piloted the exam in 2003. Other provinces/territories will be implementing the exam on a voluntary basis.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Sécurité des produits de consommation

Éducation, formation et certification

La formation des vendeurs de pesticides et des préposés à l'application (les applicateurs) de pesticides est un élément essentiel dans la sensibilisation à l'utilisation responsable de pesticides en vue de protéger la santé humaine et l'environnement. La formation et la certification des vendeurs de pesticides et des préposés à l'application de pesticides incombent aux provinces et aux territoires. La formation et la certification en ce qui concerne les pesticides sont conformes à la Norme pour l'éducation, la formation et la certification en matière de pesticides au Canada.

Sur cette page :

Norme pour l'éducation, la formation et la certification en matière de pesticides au Canada

La Norme pour l'éducation, la formation et la certification en matière de pesticides au Canada (communément appelée la Norme nationale) définit la structure et les critères des programmes provinciaux et territoriaux de qualification professionnelle. Elle est divisée en trois grandes parties : le schéma, les connaissances fondamentales exigées des préposés à l'application et les connaissances fondamentales exigées des vendeurs. Ces deux dernières parties sont par ailleurs subdivisées en modules.

La Norme nationale n'est pas un manuel de formation en soi. Elle est principalement destinée aux autorités provinciales chargées de la réglementation des pesticides et aux formateurs qui peuvent l'utiliser pour concevoir leurs propres cours, manuels de formation et examens.

Schéma (Première partie) (Révisé, édition 2005)

Le schéma est un document qui décrit l'élaboration, le but, la portée et les différentes parties de la Norme nationale. Il comprend également des renseignements sur la terminologie commune associée à la certification, les catégories de certification, les connaissances de base des préposés à l'application et des vendeurs, les critères de leur certification et de leur re-certification ainsi que les exigences de réciprocité provinciales et territoriales.

Connaissances fondamentales requises pour les préposés à l'application (Deuxième partie)

Cette partie indique les connaissances nécessaires à l'utilisation de pesticides. Elle est composée du tronc commun (révisé, édition 2003) et de dix modules spécifiques à une catégorie. Le tronc commun contient des renseignements pertinents pour tous les préposés à l'application de pesticides. Les modules contiennent des renseignements reliés aux secteurs d'application spécialisés. Il y a dix catégories communes à travers le Canada :

  • Module - Pulvérisation aérienne - Révisé, édition 2005
  • Module - Agriculture
  • Module - Végétation aquatique
  • Module - Forestier
  • Module - Fumigation
  • Module - Serriculture
  • Module - Horticulture ornementale - Révisé, édition 2004
  • Module - Terrain inculte ou emprise
  • Module - Insectes piqueurs - Révisé, édition 2007
  • Module - Extermination - Révisé, édition 2005

Connaissances fondamentales requises pour les vendeurs (Troisième partie)

Cette partie indique les connaissances nécessaires à la vente de pesticides. Le tronc commun sur la vente des pesticides contient des renseignements pertinents pour tous les vendeurs. Le module sur les ventes de pesticides contient des renseignements supplémentaires pour les vendeurs qui vendent des pesticides à usage commercial et à usage restreint.

Groupe de travail sur l'éducation, la formation et la certification

Le Groupe de travail sur l'éducation, la formation et la certification en matière de pesticides (GTEFCP) est responsable de la Norme nationale et des initiatives relatives à la sensibilisation à l'usage des pesticides. Ce groupe de travail est composé de représentants fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux, qui sont impliqués dans la réglementation des pesticides et dans la sensibilisation à l'utilisation de ces derniers. Il relève du Comité fédéral, provincial et territorial sur la lutte antiparasitaire et les pesticides. Le GTEFCP travaille, avec des associations professionnelles de préposés à l'application, des organismes médicaux et autres intervenants, à l'élaboration et au maintien de la Norme nationale.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la Norme nationale ou le GTEFCP, veuillez communiquer avec le Groupe de travail sur l'éducation, la formation et la certification en matière de pesticides.

Programmes provinciaux et territoriaux de certification en matière de pesticides

Chaque province possède son propre programme de certification pour les préposés à l'application et les vendeurs de pesticides. Ces programmes sont réglementés par les agences provinciales de réglementation des pesticides, mais peuvent être délivrés via les établissements d'enseignement. Les territoires ne possèdent pas leur propre programme de certification, mais reconnaissent la certification provenant d'autres provinces. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez joindre l'organisme provincial ou territorial de réglementation des pesticides appropriée.

Guides nationaux de certification en matière de pesticides

Des guides nationaux de certification s'inspirant de la Norme nationale sont en cours de production. Ces guides permettront d'améliorer la cohérence et l'uniformité des programmes de qualification professionnelle sur l'ensemble du territoire canadien.

Guide national d'apprentissage - Application de pesticides par aéronef

Ce guide contient de l'information nationale sur l'application de pesticides par voie aérienne au Canada. Une section intitulée « Renseignements spécifiques aux provinces », fait partie du guide : elle présente les renseignements particuliers à chaque province. Ces provinces veilleront à compléter cette section au moment de l'impression du manuel de formation. Chaque préposé à l'application de pesticides par voie aérienne doit se procurer, auprès des autorités concernées, les renseignements spécifiques à chacune des provinces où il prévoit travailler.

Le guide national d'application de pesticides par aéronef doit être utilisé conjointement avec un manuel de tronc commun provincial. Ces deux manuels doivent être utilisés ensemble au cours de la formation et constituent les manuels de références de toute personne souhaitant devenir préposé à l'application de pesticides par voie aérienne autorisé.

Une version partielle du Guide national d'application de pesticides par aéronef est affichée dans ce site Web. Des exemplaires imprimés du manuel sont disponibles par l'entremise des agences provinciales de réglementation des pesticides

Initiatives de sensibilisation à l'utilisation des pesticides

Projet d'examen du tronc commun de l'ALENA

Le Canada et les États-Unis sont impliqués dans un projet conjoint afin d'élaborer un examen commun du tronc commun pour les préposé à l'application de pesticides nord-américains. L'élaboration de cet examen suivra un processus normalisé et validé afin d'assurer que l'examen résultant soit professionnellement complet et juridiquement défendable. L'Alberta a organisé l'examen en 2003. Les autres provinces et territoires mettront l'examen en place sur une base volontaire.