Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

About Health Canada

Harper Government Launches New Website to Assist Parents

Important Notices on Hyperlinking and the Official Languages Act.

Healthy Canadians Kids RSS

RSS Subscribe for updates

Widget

Add the Recall and Safety Alerts Widget

Add the Recall and Safety Alerts Widget

Video

Read transcript or view video in larger screen

Embed the video

Banners and Images

  • HealthyCanadians Kids Banner (195 x 70)
    (178 x 66)
  • HealthyCanadians Kids Banner (195 x 150)
    (195 x 150)
  • Find out how fragile your child's head is without a helmet Banner (300 x 250)
    (300 x 250)
  • Did you know that children's car seats have an expiry date? Banner (385 x 222)
    (385 x 222)

Add a banner or image to your own website.

Facebook

Healthy Canadians
Healthy Canadians on Facebook
Promote Your Page Too

Mobile Application

Get recalls and safety alerts on the go

Download the Recalls and Safety Alerts Mobile Application

Contact Information

Media Enquiries:
Health Canada
613-957-2983

Jenny Van Alstyne
Office of the Honourable Leona Aglukkaq
Federal Minister of Health 613-957-0200

 

News Release
2010-215
December 3, 2010
For immediate release

Highlights

  • The Government of Canada has launched the Children's Health and Safety Campaign aimed at promoting children's health and safety tips for parents.
  • The ads and healthycanadians.gc.ca/kids website offer tips and advice for parents on topics such as car seat safety, healthy eating and nutrition, food safety, product safety and physical activity.
  • Free tools such as an online customizable handbook, a mobile application, and Next link will take you to another Web site Facebook applications will help Canadian parents cut through the clutter, receive up-to-date health and safety information, and Children's Health and Safety ad campaign stay connected.
  • The will air on television, in cinemas and on digital screens and posters in retail locations across Canada.  The campaign will be offered in both English and French markets starting November 22 to March 31.   Internet advertising will also encourage the use of the campaign's social media tools.

Quotes:

  • "There are often a lot of confusing messages for parents about how to keep their kids safe. This one-stop website provides parents and caregivers with a trusted source of information they need to protect their children.  I encourage parents to take advantage of these tools and visit our website today. This is a good example of the commitment made by the federal government to families." Leona Aglukkaq, Minister of Health
  • "Not too long ago, searching the internet for information on the safety of older products was a time-consuming, unproductive quest. Fortunately, this new, easy-to-use "Children's Health and Safety" website will greatly assist the parents checking if the older products are still safe, as well as allowing them to assess the safety of a product if considering purchasing second-hand." Next link will take you to another Web site Nicole Christen, mommy blogger - My Real Review
  • "It is alarming that more children die of injuries in Canada than all other causes combined. It is more alarming that most of these injuries were entirely preventable. The introduction of the new Healthy Canadians website in terms of providing accurate, up-to-date information is an important step towards reducing preventable injuries to children and the resulting suffering incurred by families." Next link will take you to another Web site Dr. Mariana Brussoni , Assistant Professor, Department of Pediatrics, University of British Columbia; Academic Scientist, BC Injury Research & Prevention Unit; Director, BC Children's Hospital Injury Reporting and Prevention Program (CHIRPP)

Quick Facts

Answers to parents' questions on topics such as food allergies, food safety, product recalls, car seat safety and obesity will be featured on the website or by calling 1-800-0-Canada.

Did you know that...

Learn more

Additional Resources

Health Canada, Next link will take you to another Web site Transport Canada, the Next link will take you to another Web site Public Health Agency of Canada, the Next link will take you to another Web site Canadian Food Inspection Agency, and Next link will take you to another Web site Public Safety Canada have all contributed to the initiative.

Tags

Health Canada; Next link will take you to another Web site Facebook; Children's Health and Safety; healthy eating; nutrition; physical activity; injury prevention; childhood obesity; allergens; car seat safety; mom; dad; blogs; parenting; parents; family; health; safety; kids; recalls; food;

Minister Aglukkaq (right) launches the "Children's Health and Safety" multimedia campaign, demonstrated by Natalie Cusson (left), Health Canada, Marketing Advisor, at the Robert Lee YMCA, Coast Capital Savings Early Childhood and Family Development Centre, in Vancouver B.C., December 3, 2010.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web! Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.
À propos de Santé Canada

Le gouvernement Harper lance un nouveau site Web pour les parents

Avis importants sur Hyperliens et la Loi sur les langues officielles.

Enfants canadiens en santé RSS

RSS S'inscrire aux mises à jour

Widget

Gadget sur les rappels et les avis de sécurité

Intégration du widget

Vidéo

Lire la transcription ou visionner le vidéo en mode plein écran

Intégrer le vidéo

Bannières et images

  • Bannières - Santé et sécurité des enfants (195 x 70)
    (178 x 66)
  • Bannières - Santé et sécurité des enfants (195 x 150)
    (195 x 150)
  • Santé et sécurité des enfants - Découvrez combien la tête d'un enfant est fragile sans une casque protecteur (300 x 250)
    (300 x 250)
  • Santé et sécurité des enfants - Saviez-vous que les sièges d'auto pour enfant ont une date d'expiration? (385 x 222)
    (385 x 222)

Boutons et bannières Web

Facebook

Canadiens en santé
Canadiens en santé sur Facebook
Favorisez votre page aussi

Application mobile

Rappels et avis de sécurité, en tout temps.

Téléchargez les rappels et alertes de sécurité sur votre application mobile

Coordonnés

Renseignements aux médias
Santé Canada
613-957-2983

Jenny Van Alstyne
Cabinet de l'honorable Leona Aglukkaq
Ministre fédérale de la Santé
613-957-0200

 

Communiqué de presse pour les médias sociaux
2010-215
Le 3 décembre 2010
Pour diffusion immédiate

Faits saillants

Citations

Certains hyperliens donnent accès à des sites d'organismes qui ne sont pas assujettis à la Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Loi sur les langues officielles. L'information qui s'y trouve est donc dans la langue du site.

  • « Les parents sont souvent confrontés à des messages discordants sur la façon de protéger leurs enfants. Ce site Web leurs offre la source d'information fiable dont ils ont besoin pour protéger leurs enfants. J'invite les parents à profiter de ces outils et à consulter notre site Web dès aujourd'hui. Cet exemple illustre bien l'engagement du gouvernement fédéral à l'égard des familles. » Leona Aglukkaq, ministre de la Santé
  • « Il n'y a pas si longtemps, surfer sur Internet pour trouver de l'information sur la sécurité de produits plus vieux s'avérait pénible et stérile. Heureusement, le nouveau site Web convivial Santé et sécurité des enfants aidera beaucoup les parents à vérifier si les produits plus vieux sont toujours sûrs, et leur permettra d'évaluer l'innocuité d'un produit s'ils envisagent l'achat d'un article usagé. » Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Nicole Christen (en anglais seulement), mère blogueuse - My Real Review
  • « Il est alarmant que les décès d'enfants par blessures dépassent toutes les autres causes combinées au Canada. Il l'est encore plus de constater que la plupart de ces blessures étaient tout à fait évitables. La création du nouveau site Web Canadiens en santé, pour ce qui est de fournir une information exacte et à jour, constitue une étape importante en vue de réduire les blessures évitables chez les enfants et la souffrance que vivent leurs proche » déclare la Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Dre Mariana Brussoni (en anglais seulement), professeure adjointe, Département de pédiatrie et scientifique, Université de la Colombie-Britannique, scientifique, BC Injury Research & Prevention Unit ;  directrice, BC Children's Hospital Injury Reporting and Prevention Program (CHIRPP).

Faits en bref

Le parent qui s'interroge sur des sujets comme les allergies alimentaires, la salubrité des aliments, les rappels de produit, la sûreté des sièges d'auto et l'obésité trouvera des réponses dans le site www.canadiensensante.ca/enfants ou pourra composer le 1-800-0-Canada.

Saviez-vous que...

Pour en savoir plus

Autres ressources

Santé Canada, Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Transports Canada, Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada, Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments, et Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Sécurité publique Canada ont tous contribué à cette initiative.

Mots clés :

Santé Canada; Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Facebook; santé et sécurité des enfants; saine alimentation; nutrition; activité physique; prévention des blessures; obésité juvénile; allergènes; sécurité des sièges d'auto; maman; papa; blogues; rôle des parents; parents; famille; santé; sécurité; enfants; rappels; aliments;

La ministre Aglukkaq (droite) lance la « Campagne sur la santé et la sécurité des enfants » accompagnée de Natalie Cusson (gauche), conseillère en marketing, Santé Canada, au Robert Lee YMCA, Coast Capital Savings Early Childhood and Family Development Centre, à Vancouver (C.-B.), le 3 décembre 2010.